Ep 2, Sc 3: The Morning

INT. HOLLY’S APARTMENT. DAY.

Holly yawned as she reached for the coffee pot and poured herself a cup. She pulled the newspaper towards her and, perching on one the bar stools, started to flip through it.

She heard the elevator door open and the metal grate being pushed back and in another minute Amy appeared, carrying grocery bags. She placed them down on the counter and smiled towards Holly.

“So how was dinner?

Holly sighed. She hadn’t been looking forward to this. “Not good. You were right about it.”

“Right about what?”

“I know what you were thinking about the whole situation, so you can stop pretending,” said Holly, “Victor McCall is nothing but a dirty old man.”

“I’m so sorry Holly. I know how excited you were. Here, let me make you some cupcakes. You’ll feel better.”

Holly laughed. “Thanks Amy, but I’m fine. I’m just disappointed that’s all.”

“I’ll make you some anyways,” said Amy, pulling out the cupcake tins. “So, tell me what happened?”

Holly shrugged. “I hadn’t been there more than about fifteen minutes then I realized exactly what kind of dinner it was. He went on about how he wanted to get to know me and then he touched my hand. It was so…awful. I felt cheap.”

“I’m so sorry Holly. That sucks. Did you leave then?”

“No actually. I almost did but I had this conversation with a guy there. He told me I should have dinner first and then leave McCall with the check.”

“Holly! You didn’t did you?” asked Amy, looking up from her mixing bowl.

“Actually….I did.” Holly grinned. “I ordered the most expensive things on the menu. Frogs legs, antelope and then some really weird dessert that was made with imported Asian fruit or something. Oh, and I also ordered my own drinks…champagne. Expensive champagne.”

“I can’t believe you did that!” Amy laughed. “But it does serve him right. How’d you duck out on him?”

“I excused myself after ordering coffee, and used the back exit. Then I went around to the front and gt my coat and drove off.” Holly shrugged. “It was actually pretty easy.”

“I don’t know if I should be proud or lecturing you,” said Amy. “Here, butter the cupcake tin for me.”

Holly took the stick of butter and the dish and began greasing it.

“So who was this guy?” asked Amy, after a pause.

“Pardon?”

“The guy you talked to, who suggested you stay for dinner?”

“Oh him…I don’t know. I didn’t get a name. He was just sitting out back when I met him. I…well I had a mini melt down in front of him. It’s a bit embarrassing now that I think about it. He looked a bit…familiar though.”

“Familiar? You’ve met him before?”

“I don’t think so. He knew McCall though. He might have been an actor.”

“You met someone famous?” asked Amy brightly, as she took the cupcake tin back and began to pour the batter into it.

“I don’t know,” shrugged Holly. “I don’t know my actors well enough to say if he was one or not. He was very nice though.”

“Nice? As in you liked him?”

“No. He was just nice.”

Amy put the cupcakes into the oven and set the timer. “There. They should be ready in about fifteen minutes. Oh I forgot to mention. Someone called earlier while you were still asleep. I wrote down their name and number. It was about a part.”

“A part? Did they say which one?” asked Holly eagerly.

“No. I don’t think so. The number’s by the phone.”

Holly was already off the stool and hurrying towards the telephone.

This entry was posted in Episode Two, Holly Woods, Season One and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

