Ep 4, Sc 2: The Invitation

INT. HOLLY’S APARTMENT. DAY.

Holly picked up her plate and glass, carrying them over to the sink and turning on the faucet. She grabbed sponge and dish soap and began to clean up the remains of her breakfast.

Amy emerged from the bathroom toweling her hair, and came over towards the kitchen area.

“Hello,” she greeted Holly. “You’re up early.”

“Have to get to the set. Isn’t that exciting?” asked Holly, beaming, “I’m going to the set. I have a set to go to!”

Amy laughed. “So how was your first day?”

“It was amazing. I’m so happy Amy. I really think I’m going to love working there.”

“I’m glad.” Amy poured herself a cup of coffee and leaned against the counter. “You got in late last night by the way. I was already asleep.”

“I went and had drinks with Evelyn Martin,” said Holly grinning.

“No kidding? Evelyn Martin! My mother loves her movies!”

“Don’t ever let Evelyn hear you saying that,” Holly warned. “I get the distinct impression age is a very sore subject for her. She got very drunk last night and lectured me on the fact that a female actress’s career ends at the age of forty unless she’s Meryl Streep. In her own words, you end up playing second fiddle or you’re out the door.”

“Gloomy.”

“It was fun! I felt very glamorous. And I’ve got to go. I have a meeting with the assistant director.”

**********

EXT. STUDIO LOT. DAY.

Holly pulled into the studio parking lot. She grabbed her purse from the backseat and got out of the car, locking the doors behind her.

“Holly! Hello.”

Holly turned at the sound of her name and saw Peter, car key still in hand, approaching her.

“Hey,” she smiled at him. “Headed for the costume fitting?”

“Yes.”

“Hopefully you’re not playing one of the crocodiles?”

Peter laughed and shook his head. He glanced up a little abruptly as a car pulled into the lot but turned his gaze back towards Holly as it parked some distance away. Holly frowned but Peter merely said,

“It actually might be better if I did play a crocodile. As it is I’m one of the few characters that survive the whole thing, instead of say the first guy that gets eaten while out in deep space and is in hidden in a space suit for most of his few, short scenes which means that actor can leave with some dignity intact.”

“Now come on,” said Holly, “It may be a film with…some questionable plot lines. But it’s really special that you got cast in it. Not everyone can say they’ve been in a movie. You’ll be on TV. You’ll get paid and build a resume. And every successful actor has some terrible film in their past that they made before they became famous. It’ll be fun, you’ll see and you shouldn’t sell yourself short for having won the part.”

Peter smiled at her. “You know that’s really nice of you to say.”

“Hey, you cheered me up when I was down. Now I cheer you up. Hey, tell you what; Alan Ryder invited me to a party at his house this weekend. He said I should bring a friend. You should come with me. It’ll be a lot of fun; we’ll see some celebrities, admire his fancy house and just hang out. Come on what do you say?”

Peter cleared his throat and suddenly became very interested in his car keys. “That’s very…nice of you to ask me. And I would like to…” He looked back up at her and his expression looked oddly regretful. “I really would like to go with you,” he said earnestly. “But I just can’t.”

“Why not? I know you probably won’t know anybody there. But neither will I. We can just have a good time together. I’d like it if you could come.”

“I’m busy this weekend,” said Peter flatly.

“Oh. Okay.” Holly suddenly felt very uncomfortable and ran a hand along the top of her head, smoothing her hair. “Maybe some other time.”

“Absolutely,” said Peter with feeling. “I would really like that.”

Feeling distinctly confused and off balanced, Holly made a point of glancing at her watch and then tried to give him a weak smile as she gestured over her shoulder towards the set.

“I’ve got to go; I’m meeting with the assistant director to get my schedule.”

“Right of course.” Peter stepped back as he stuffed his car keys into his pocket. “I’ll see you around.”

“Sure thing.” Holly turned and walked away. With a mental shake of her head and a chuckle she thought to herself, He’s nice. But really strange.

This entry was posted in Episode Four, Holly Woods, Peter Glades, Season One and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ep 4, Sc 2: The Invitation

  1. agreyworld says:

    That’s got me curious…

Leave a Reply

