Ep 5, Sc 4: The Numbers

EXT. STUDIO LOT. DAY.

As Holly and Peter walked slowly back towards their respective sets, she felt completely relaxed and comfortable. It had been fun to spend time with Peter. He was easy to talk to as he listened and asked questions about her first week on set and he made her laugh as he joked about his own film.

She glanced up towards him as they walked. He was pointing out various soundstages to her, mentioning movies that had been filmed there and telling her what certain buildings were used for. He seemed to be enjoying himself.

“And in that one a superhero movie is currently being filmed but I honestly don’t know which one. Millionaires dressing up in armor and insect-inspired vigilantes have never really done it for me.”

“Not like Crocodiles?” she teased.

“Definitely not,” he grinned back. “My agent wanted to get me into one of those multimillion dollar summer blockbusters but I told him ‘no, find me crocodiles.”

Holly laughed and then asked curiously, “Do you really have an agent?”

“Yes, Matt.”

“What’s he like?”

Peter shrugged. “He’s a really good guy. He’s very cheerful, upbeat. He’s been a good friend for a long time. He was my best man. And he’s a great agent as well. He works very hard and he loves doing it.”

Holly stopped in surprise. “You’re married?”

Peter stopped as well and looked at her his expression confused. “What?”

“You said he was your best man. But you don’t have a ring.”

“Oh,” Peter’s face cleared. “No. Well I was but I’m not now. Matt was my best man for it though.”

“I see.” Holly started walking again, feeling a little awkward after the exchange. “You two sound pretty close then.”

Peter shrugged. “I don’t know that we’re close…but he’s a good friend.”

Holly frowned as she considered the distinction. Peter cleared his throat and then changed the subject.

“Have you considered getting an agent?” he asked.

Holly shrugged. “At some point, but I’m going to wait till I understand things better. I feel I don’t really have enough of a grasp on where things stand yet.”

Peter nodded. “Sounds smart.”

They reached the parking lot and Holly stopped again, turning to Peter to say goodbye.

“I had a really fun time. Thank you,” she said.

“We should do this again.”

“We should,” she agreed. “I like talking to you.”

Peter reached into his pocket and pulled out a piece of torn notepaper and handed it to her. “Here,” he said, “This is my number. If you ever want to talk about anything or need any kind of help or advice, feel free to call me. I’ll be happy to hear from you.”

Holly took the number and slipped it into her back pocket.

“Thank you,” she said sincerely.

Peter smiled at her and then briefly holding his hand up in a wave, nodded goodbye and walked off.

Feeling happy and confident Holly turned around herself and headed up the road back toward the set. Checking her watch, she realized she was a little pressed for time and she sped up, hurrying over to the costume department.

She waved at Matilda and grabbed her costume off the rack she had hung it on and changed quickly. She hurried over to make up to get touched up and then made her way over to the filming.

She reached the saloon set and took her place behind the bar with minutes to spare. An extra leaning lazily against it nodded towards her and then lowering his voice whispered,

“It’s good you got here on time. The director lost out on a film deal and he’s in a foul mood. Which means Walsh is in a foul mood and he’s chewing everyone out that he can.”

Holly glanced towards Walsh in concern. He was lecturing a cameraman.

“Duly noted,” she replied, “Thanks for the heads up.”

The extra moved away and Holly fiddled with the glasses behind the bar, grateful that it should be easy for her to keep a low profile.

“Holly.”

She glanced up and saw Alan smiling at her.

“Hello Alan, she responded eagerly, forgetting Walsh instantly.

“How are you?” he asked, sitting down on one of the barstools and propping his elbows up.

“Pretty good. Thank you again for inviting me to the party. I had a really good time.”

“I’m very happy you could come. Actually…Holly I was wondering…” he glanced around as if to make sure no one was nearby and then lowering his voice a bit continued. “Would you be interested in having dinner with me?”

Holly’s hands, which had been playing with a couple of the shot glasses behind the bar, froze. Alan’s eyes locked onto hers and she stood staring at him for a one very long moment.

She felt excited and terrified at the same time. She felt sure he had to be asking her out on a date but a voice in her head kept cropping up claiming he was just trying to be friendly. Emotions and thoughts seemed to whizz through her head, bouncing off the walls of her mind.

Think later, she chided herself, answer now.

“I’d love to,” she said, trying to keep her voice firm and determined.

“Great,” he beamed at her. “I have a premier this weekend and a bunch of talk shows leading up to it, but I should have a free evening next week if that would work for you.”

Holly nodded. “It would work for me.”

“Good. Then once I know exactly what day works we can make plans.”

“I’ll give you my number. You can call me.”

“Perfect.”

“Alan!” Walsh yelled across the room, his voice startling both Holly and Alan. “If you’re done hanging out, it’d be great if we could start!”

Alan grinned at Holly and whispered, “I’d better go before he comes over.” He stood and walked away; leaving Holly feeling as if a train had just rolled through her emotions, throwing everything into disarray.

This entry was posted in Alan Ryder, Episode Five, Evelyn Martin, Peter Glades, Season One and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ep 5, Sc 4: The Numbers

  1. Amber Laura says:

    Sorry to post so late in the game…I just found your blog and I am thoroughly enjoying it thus far. You write very natural dialogue; the banter back and forth about the crocodiles–no blockbuster movies give me the crocs–is realistic and smooth. I can “hear” them talking in my imagination with no effort. Great work! I’m looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

