Ep 8, Sc 2: The Tabloids

EXT. STUDIO LOT. (CONT’D)

Holly let out a sigh of relief as she stepped out of the soundstage onto the sidewalk. It had gone well but she was glad her talk with Peter was over. At least she had been able to get it over with first thing this morning, she thought, as she started heading back towards the parking lot and the ‘Homestead’ set beyond it. She reached the costume building five minutes later and went in.

Matilda looked up from where she was fitting a dress on Evelyn and waved a greeting.

Holly collapsed into a chair and felt suddenly exhausted.

“Are you alright?” asked Evelyn looking at her intently.

“I’m fine,” said Holly, “Just went and talked to Peter. It went fine but it was tiring.”

“Ah.” Evelyn nodded, understandingly. “Well that leads into my news quite well.”

“News?” Holly asked curiously, sitting up straighter.

“Yes. I have something to show you,” said Evelyn. “It’s quite a big day for you.”

“I’m not sure that’s quite how Holly’s going to see it,” said Matilda doubtfully.

“It’s part of acting. Look in my purse Holly; it’s over on the table. Open it and get out the tabloid inside. It’s on page…five, I think it was?”

Holly followed the instructions, pulling out the paper and opening it, folding it over to the fifth page. For a minute she wasn’t sure what she was supposed to be looking at and then her jaw dropped open. Staring up at her was a picture from Friday night, a picture of her and Peter at the door of the club about to enter it. A caption below it read: ‘Peter Glades spotted with mystery woman. She’d better hope it ends better than his marriage…’

Holly felt speechless as she stared at it.

“You look quite nice in it,” said Evelyn.

Matilda glanced up at her and rolled her eyes.

“But look at the caption,” said Holly trying to figure out why she suddenly felt so angry. “It implies we’re dating and does so in a very hurtful way.”

“It’s the tabloids. That’s their job,” said Evelyn. “To imply everything in the sleaziest way they can think of. But-” She started to move.

“Evelyn,” Matilda cried out in exasperation. “I need you to stand still.”

“Oh put you pins away and finish later,” said Evelyn over her shoulder as she flicked the skirt of the dress, removing it from Matilda’s hands. She crossed over to Holly and stood next to her looking down at the picture. “And really this is good for you.”

Good for me?” Holly asked in disbelief.

“Of course. It’s exposer. Studios like actors that are already in people’s heads, that someone will see in a trailer and say ‘I know her’. Peter was the Hollywood scandal five years ago and a huge star before that. People know him, which means this picture is going to be looked at and they’re going to see you. It won’t make you an overnight star, but every picture helps when you’re starting out.”

“I don’t want that,” said Holly tossing the tabloid away, “I don’t want tabloids printing pictures of me, implying a bunch of lies.”

“But Holly dear that’s what happens when you become famous,” said Evelyn gently, “And if you really want to succeed you’re going to have to get used to it. It’s part of the job. Just like having strangers come up and ask for autographs and pictures is part of the job and going into a supermarket and seeing magazines advertising some of the hardest moments of your life is part of the job. I’m not saying it’s going to happen to you today or tomorrow, but if you really do become successful these are things you have to accept. And,” she continued, more firmly, “If you’re planning on going out with Alan, the tabloids are something you’re going to have to get used to right now.”

“What?” Holly blinked. “We’re just having one date.”

“Evelyn,” said Matilda. “I think Holly’s private life-”

“I’ve realized how little Holly really knows about this and I am trying to help her,” said Evelyn without looking in Matilda’s direction. “I’m not saying dear,” she resumed, addressing Holly, “That you shouldn’t go out with him but I want you to be prepared for the results. If you go out with him, pictures are eventually going to end up in the papers. It’s what happens. Now a days with cell phones and pagers, paparazzi are almost always there. And with internet and social media everyone sees the pictures that result from it. You need to know what you’re letting yourself in for.”

Holly stood silently. She wanted to be angry. A part of her felt like her personal life was being intruded on and that Evelyn had crossed a line. But she knew Evelyn meant well whatever the results.

“I just want you to realize that when it comes to dating someone like Alan, who’s at that point in their career,” said Evelyn, “That there’s a lot more to take into account then just your feelings for him.”

“But if you like someone can you really say no just because you’re afraid of the side effects?” asked Holly quietly.

“Do you like him?”

“I…I think so?” asked Holly. It was irrational but she suddenly felt very upset and overwhelmed. “I don’t know. What I know of him I like but I’ve never been in a relationship before. I’ve never even really had feelings for someone before. I don’t know what it’s supposed to be and feel like. I just know that I think I like him. How am I supposed to know if it enough to put up with all this? I don’t even really know what this is!”

“Oh Holly,” Evelyn sighed. She placed a kind arm around her shoulders. “Some things you just have to learn the hard way.”

Holly tried to smile at her.

“Evelyn why don’t you let me finish my work? I’ve think you’ve upset her enough,” said Matilda. “Holly you can help me if you’d like.”

“I would,” said Holly, brightening a little.

“Good.”

Evelyn gave another sigh and moved back towards Matilda, while Holly took a moment to breath. It was only nine thirty. And already it had been an emotionally exhausting day.

This entry was posted in Episode Eight, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Season One and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

