Episode 13, Scene 1: The Confusion

EXT. HOMESTEAD SET. DAY.

Holly pulled her hair back into a ponytail and wrapped a band around it as she walked down the dirt street, towards the center of set. She approached the group of actors that had begun to assemble around Walsh who was handing out call sheets. She took a spot beside Evelyn and shot her a smile.

“Hello,” Evelyn. “Did Alan get off alright yesterday?”

Holly started watching Walsh very intently as she shrugged. “Yep.”

Evelyn raised her eyebrows slightly and then turned her gaze back towards Walsh as well.

“Holly!” Walsh approached her and pulled a sheet from his clipboard and handed it to her. “I’m giving you an updated schedule. The writers have written you into several scenes for the completed scripts. Building up your role so you can have a bit part in the finale.”

“Really?”

“Yes, Ian really liked the work you did in last week’s episode. You did a great job.”

“Wow, thank you.”

Holly ran her eyes down the call sheet. She was looking over tomorrow’s times when she felt a gentle tap on her shoulder. She turned around to see Victor McCall standing beside her.

“Miss Woods, I was wondering if I could talk to you for a moment?” he asked.

“Oh…yes. Okay.” She smiled nervously and nodded.

Victor gestured towards one of the buildings and Holly crossed the street and followed him inside.

The building was a bank set, and Holly nervously leaned against one of the cashier grates, as she watched Victor shut the door and cross over to her. It struck her that he looked almost as nervous as she felt. They had not talked again, beyond a few greetings since the reception and Holly felt nerves ball in the pit of stomach.

“Miss Woods, I wanted to talk to you about what happened.”

“You were right,” she blurted out quickly. “I should have at least talked to you. Given you a chance to defend yourself-”

Victor held up a hand. “Actually, I asked you in here to apologize myself.”

“What for? You said you hadn’t meant anything that night.”

“I didn’t. But since learning how it had struck you, I’ve gone over the evening several times in my head and I realized you weren’t completely without justification. I behaved…a little too familiarly. I-…I suppose I just- honestly Miss Woods, you do remind me of my granddaughter. And I suppose I miss her. She’s at University in Scotland studying Bioengineering. Her mother’s in London. And her grandmother died three years ago. The similarities between you and Heather-, my granddaughter…I suppose I got a little…nostalgic for her and assumed a little on you-”

McCall was starting to look a little upset and it was Holly’s turn to interrupt. “It really doesn’t matter. Why don’t we both just forget about that evening and start over? We are working together, we should really just put it behind us.”

Victor let out a sigh of relief. “I would like that. And maybe after the season wraps you’d like to try again. Talking about your career that is. There’s the summer hiatus to think about.”

Holly’s cell phone rang and she fished it out of her pocket. She checked the caller’s name. Peter. “I should probably take this,” she said.

“Oh that’s quite alright.” Victor said, smiling, “We’ll talk later.”

As he left the building, Holly answered the call. “Hey.”

She heard Peter clearing his throat. “Holly, I was just calling to check in. I haven’t seen you since we got together at your apartment.”

“I’m doing alright.” Holly lifted herself up to sit on the cashier’s counter. “It’s been a rough couple of weeks. It’s been a little difficult with the paparazzi, and Alan’s gone away on a trip.”

“Really? How long will he be gone?”

“Two weeks.”

“Oh. Well we should do something. I’d like to see you soon.”

“Yeah, I’d like to see you too. Actually Evelyn’s coming over to watch my first major episode on the show next week. It’ll be like last time, only Amy and Alan won’t be there.”

“Amy doesn’t want to watch?”

“Oh she wants to. But she’ll be working that night. They’re having an all-night Thin Man marathon down at a park, and she’s going to be manning a booth, selling some of her baked goods.”

“Well it sounds like a lot of fun. Count me in.”

“Great. I’ll see you then.” Holly hung up and sighed, slipping her phone back into her pocket. She could hear a bustle outside as the crew started setting up cameras. She sighed. And rubbed her eyes, still sleepy from had ended up being a relatively restless night.

She couldn’t quite understand it, but since Alan had said-…well what Alan had said, she’d found it hard to think about much else. It wasn’t supposed to be this way though was it? Someone told you they loved you, you weren’t supposed to be left feeling anxious and worried? You weren’t supposed to sit there like an idiot right after they had said it. It was supposed to feel nice; it was supposed to make you happy…

There was a knock and she looked up. Evelyn was standing in the doorway.

“Holly, are you alright?” Evelyn came near as Holly pushed herself off the counter.

“I’m fine, why?”

“Well I thought you might be a little low about Alan being away.”

Holly hesitated a second, but the urge to have someone to talk to overwhelmed her and she gave way. “It’s not that. And I’m not upset. I’m just confused.”

“Confused about what dear?”

“Alan told me he loved me.”

“Oh.”

“‘Oh’ is right.”

“And what did you say?”

“Nothing!” Holly said, starting to pace and letting her complete frustration with herself come out in her tone. “I just sat there. I couldn’t even move! He must have thought I was awful! But I just froze up!”

“Well, if you had to do it over again, what would you have said?” asked Evelyn curiously.

Holly stopped short. “I really don’t know.”

“I see. And that’s what’s really troubling you isn’t it?”

“I suppose so,” she admitted.

“Well dear, that’s nothing to worry about. Not really.” Evelyn put an arm around her. “These things always take a while to learn. He’s gone now and it’ll give you some time. That’ll be good for you. By the time he comes back, you’ll probably know a lot better how you really feel about him.”

“And if I don’t know?”

“If you don’t know, then you probably don’t feel about him the same way he feels about you.”

Holly sighed. “Between Hollywood and dating I don’t know which one I find more confusing.”

Evelyn laughed. “Believe me darling, they both have their attractions.”

This entry was posted in Episode Thirteen, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Season One, Victor McCall and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Episode 13, Scene 1: The Confusion

  1. schn00dles says:

    Nicely written episodes. It must be difficult for women when forced to declare her feelings before they appear.

    • Holly(Woods) says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked it and that it worked for you. Writing Holly for these particular events have been a little difficult. I know what I want to convey as her feelings, but not sure how well I’m doing it!

  2. Keith says:

    typo 1:
    “Miss. Woods. I was wondering
    and
    “Miss. Woods I wanted to
    and
    honestly Miss. Woods you do remind

    should be
    “Miss Woods, I was wondering
    and
    “Miss Woods, I wanted to
    and
    honestly Miss Woods, you do remind

    There should be no period between Miss and Woods and a comma after Woods.

    typo 2?
    “Well it sounds like a lot of fun. Count me.”

    The last sentence seems incomplete to me, although it could be colloquial.
    I’d say, “Count me in.” or “Count on me.”

    • Holly(Woods) says:

      Ah thanks! Yeah, someone else commented recently that there’s no period after Miss. Didn’t realize that. I probably make that mistake through out the story. Will have to go back and look.

      Also, yes, ‘Count me’ was a definitely a typo.

Leave a Reply

