Ep 13, Sc 4: The Frustration

EXT. HOMESTEAD SET. DAY.

In full costume and makeup, Holly leaned against a hitching post, studying a page of script. She twirled a strand of hair around one finger absently, as she ran through her lines. She looked up at the sound of footsteps, and smiled as Evelyn approached.

“Hello,” she waved with her free hand. “Thanks for coming last night.”

“I wouldn’t have missed it,” said Evelyn. “I really am proud of how well you did Holly. You were excellent.”

Holly gave an embarrassed but pleased smile.

Evelyn ran a hand absently along the post. “Did Peter stay long after I left?”

The script dropped to the ground abruptly. “Peter?” Holly ducked down to retrieve the pages. “Why do you ask?”

“Just wondering,” Evelyn said, still examining the hitching post.

Holly tried to dust a bit of dirt off the script.

“Well did he?” Evelyn urged.

“Oh…a bit.”

“What did you all do?”

“Watched some TV…chatted. Why are you so interested?” Holly countered.

“Did you have a good time?” asked Evelyn, ignoring the question.

“I suppose.”

Evelyn watched her for a moment and then sighed, “Holly, I think I should give you a friendly warning about Peter. I think he may very well be interested in you.”

Holly let out a noise of exasperation. “Why is it I’m always told everything about Peter when it’s too late? I was told about his wife after I’d already made him go to that after party, and now I’m told he’s interested in me after he’s already said he loves me? I never would have invited him last night if I’d known!”

Evelyn raised her eyebrows in surprise. “Really? He actually told you he loves you?”

“Yes! And I had no idea it was coming so I was really very rude to him.”

“Oh dear. I suppose I should have said something sooner. I suspect I just-”

“How could you suspect? He said it was obvious too, but I still don’t see it.” Holly shook her head and gave another huff of annoyance.

“I suppose you wouldn’t. You really have to have known the way Peter’s lived for the past five years to pick up on it. He doesn’t go anywhere. He doesn’t have any friends except for that agent of his. And then suddenly you come along and he’s attending a party and comes over to your apartment to watch Homestead. Besides you just had to see the way he looked at you…”

“You realize he was on trial for murder when I was just fifteen years old. He’s in his thirties and I’m barely in my twenties.”

“There is an age difference,” Evelyn conceded. “But not an insurmountable one.  And nothing to compare to some celebrity couples. The murder trial is a valid concern of course.”

“Oh it’s not even really that,” sighed Holly. “I don’t care so much about all the objections, I care because I just wanted to be friends. I liked being friends with him. And now I’m frustrated because he had to go and ruin it.”

“It’s not ruined. Friendships can work past this as long as there was a real mutual friendship to being with that was separate from the crush or love or whatever romantic feelings were there. It can be worked around. You should give him a little time though. It’s hard enough to be rejected without hearing the phrase ‘I just want to be friends’.”

Holly smiled. “Right.” There was a long pause, and then she continued, “But one good thing did come from all this.”

“And what was that?”

“I did finally figure out how I feel about Alan.”

“You did?”

“Yes. I love him.”

“You do?” asked Evelyn surprised.

“Yes. The suggestion that I might be interested in anyone else made me realize it. I called him last night and told him.”

Walsh’s voice drifted out from the building behind the two, calling for Holly. Evelyn watched her leave and then sighed, feeling for perhaps the first time, rather glad she wasn’t that young anymore.

**********

Evelyn ran a brush through her hair and then clipped on two large earrings, before exiting her trailer and making her way towards the parking lot. She covered a yawn and then gave a small wave to a passing crew member.

She reached the parking lot and unlocked her car, tossing her purse onto her passenger’s seat. She got into the car and put it in reverse. As she glanced up at the rearview mirror she paused. She got back out of the car and crossed the pavement.

“Peter!” she called out.

He jumped and turned quickly. When he saw it was Evelyn, a look of relief swept over his face, and then wariness.

“Evelyn,” he crossed over to meet her halfway. “How can I help you?”

“I was wondering if you were busy next weekend.”

“What?”

“I wanted to invite you over for dinner at my place.”

Peter stared at her blankly. Evelyn waited for a full minute, smiling pleasantly and then cleared her throat a little pointedly.

“I’d love to catch up,” she added, prodding.

“Catch up?”

“Yes. Brilliant. I’ll see you next week. How about Saturday at seven?”

“Seven?”

“Alright then.” Evenly turned on her heels and walked away, leaving a flabbergasted Peter. Honestly, she thought to herself, if I had waited for him to come up with an answer on his own we would have been standing out here all night. But as she got into her car and pulled out of the parking lot she felt satisfied.

This entry was posted in Episode Thirteen, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Peter Glades, Season One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ep 13, Sc 4: The Frustration

  1. Mian says:

    Lol, she does like to meddle a bit.
    Well meaning at that.

Leave a Reply

