Episode 16, Scene 1: The Attempt

EXT. STREET. NIGHT.

Holly got out of the taxi, a happy feeling of exhaustion and excitement keeping her from instantly heading towards the apartment door. Instead she stood in the empty street for a few seconds, looking up at the sky, playing the evening over again in her mind and letting it all wash over her.

Smiling to herself, she reached into her purse and rummaging around for the keys she started walking towards the entrance of her building. She was feet away, when she saw something out of the corner of her eye and looked up to see Peter, standing up from where he’d been seated on the step.

“Peter.” She stopped surprise. “What are you doing here?”

“I’m sorry. I know it’s late. I buzzed up but no one answer.”

“I was at a party and Amy’s gone for the weekend. But what did you want?”

“I needed to talk to you,” he said urgently. “I just…really needed to see you about something.”

“Okay.” She nodded, confused but curious, and pulled out her keys and unlocked the door, leading him inside. As they rode up in the elevator, she shot a quick glance over at him and frowned. He looked agitated.

The elevator door opened and the two stepped into the apartment. She put down her purse and headed towards the kitchen.

“Can I get you anything? Coffee? Water?” She glanced back at his expression again. “Alcohol?”

“No. Thank you.”

She filled the coffee pot for herself and flicked on the maker then turned to rest against the kitchen island. “I am glad you’re here.”

He’d been looking around the apartment, as if trying to avoid looking anywhere else then at her, but now he turned surprised. “You are?”

“Yes, I am. I didn’t like how we left things. I’ve been looking for you every day in the parking lot hoping I’d run into you.”

“You have?” He walked nearer to the kitchen.

“I wanted to explain something. When you, well, made your feelings known…”

The corner of Peter’s lips twitched a bit at her phrasing.

“I don’t think I really responded very well,” she continued.

“Really, Holly,” he held up a hand. “It’s okay.”

“No. I don’t think it is. I said something about the circumstances. And you thought I was talking about your wife, but I wasn’t. I was talking about Alan.”

Peter stopped moving closer, and his expression turned hard. Holly watched him for a moment cautiously and then turned around and removed the coffeepot, pouring herself a cup. When she turned back to him, his face was curiously blank.

“I love him Peter,” she said softly. “I really think I found him. I know I’m young. I know he’s my first real boyfriend. And believe me, Evelyn has told me how hard relationships can be in Hollywood. I get how impossible it sounds but, I know how I feel and that’s incredibly happy whenever I’m with him. I am truly in love with him. And that’s what I meant Peter when I talked about the circumstances.”

Peter forced a smile, but even to Holly it looked fake. “I understand.”

She came around the island and approached him, taking hold of his hand. “I do want to be your friend though. I care about you. Do you think we can?”

He nodded slowly. “I hope so.”

“Good.”

“You really are happy with him?”

“I am,” she said sincerely. “I know this probably is not what you want to hear but I am really happy. It hasn’t been all that long, but it’s been right. And I already can’t imagine being without him.”

“Oh.” He looked away.

There was a long silence and then Holly asked tentatively, “Was there something in particular you came to say?”

He blinked at her a few times and a funny expression crossed his face. Shaking his head, he took a couple of steps back. “I just wanted to make sure we were okay.”

“Of course we are. Always.” She beamed at him, but privately wondered why he looked so oddly lost.

“I should probably go,” he said abruptly. “It’s late and I’m sure you’re tired.”

She shrugged. “A little. But good tired. Plus I’m going to be in a movie.”

“You are?”

“Yes. McCall got the part for me actually.”

“Well you’ll have to tell me all about it.”

“There some chocolate cheese cake in the refrigerator. We could cut some pieces, hang out, talk.”

“No thanks. I should get home.”

“Are you sure? Amy made it.”

“Yeah I’m sure. I’m tired. But thank you.” He reached the elevator and waved back towards her. He knew he was being abrupt but the urge to get out of there was stronger than anything else. As the door slid shut behind him, he slowly sunk back against the wall, his breathing growing rapid. He closed his eyes and tried to concentrate.

What was he going to do? Holly…he couldn’t tell her. He couldn’t stand the see what it would to her if she believed him, and what if she didn’t? So many people hadn’t believed him for so long, he didn’t think he could take it from her. And how could see believe him when she loved Alan so much? He hadn’t believed anybody when they tried to tell him what Layla was like. He’d married her and deluded himself, until he ended up in this mess.

The police barely even occurred to him as a possibility. Partly because he doubted they’d find his information very convincing, but largely given his experience with them he’d learned to think of the police more as a problem then a solution.

As he came out into the night he felt incredibly tired. But the thought of returning to the apartment with only the silence and the weight of that name, Alan Ryder, seemed unbearable. He got in his car and pulled out onto the road and started off towards the highway. Tonight would be a long night…and he felt the urge to keep moving.

This entry was posted in Episode Sixteen, Holly Woods, Peter Glades, Season One and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Episode 16, Scene 1: The Attempt

  1. schn00dles says:

    Better buy her a gun, Peter.

    • Mian says:

      Ha. and no. Buy her some lessons, use the show she’s on as pretext.
      And get her some self-defense lessons using the papparazzi as pretext.

Leave a Reply

