S2, Ep 1, Sc 2: The Chat

Holly suppressed a yawn as she showed her ID to the guard, and then slowly eased her car into the studio lot. She’d barely slept the night before, but it had only half been because of jet lag. The other half was excitement at being back.

She couldn’t help but enjoy the fact that she was returning to set. She was used to it now. She’d been here before. She belonged on set; she knew where she was going and what she was doing. It felt nice.

She pulled into the parking lot and turned off the car. Gathering up her purse, she got out. Almost involuntarily she glanced across the street towards the far soundstage. She wondered what was filming there now and then briefly where Peter was. She hadn’t heard from in… she thought back. It hadn’t been since the night of the wrap party. She shifted uncomfortably. Maybe telling him all about her love for Alan hadn’t been the most diplomatic choice, but she’d thought it was important he know. But she supposed she shouldn’t be too surprised that she hadn’t heard from him since then. Still, she admitted to herself, as she turned away and began walking towards set, she did rather miss him.

The concrete road under her feet turned to dirt as she reached the western set and old-fashioned wooden buildings began to line both sides. She checked in with Walsh, who ticked her name off his clipboard, and then headed over to the costume department.

As she opened the door, she couldn’t resist a smile as she heard Evelyn and Matilda chatting away. She stepped in and shut the door behind her.

“Holly!” Evelyn was on her feet and across the room in less than a second. “It’s so good to see you dear!” She hugged her tightly.

“It’s good to see you as well. Both of you,” she added, giving Matilda a small wave over Evelyn’s shoulder.

“There’s a cast meeting with Ian in about an hour,” said Evelyn, leading Holly towards a chair and sitting her down. “Until then you’re going to stay right here, and you can tell us all about the trip! I hope you had fun.”

“I did, oh- that reminds me!” She fished into her purse and pulled out two small boxes. “I got you both something.”

“Oh how nice!” beamed Matilda, coming over to take hers.

Holly handed Evelyn one of the two boxes. “I know you probably already have everything. But I really just wanted to say thank you for everything you’ve done for me.”

Evelyn smiled and opened the box, pulling out a bracelet.

“It’s made by one of the aboriginal tribes,” Holly explained. “I thought it was something a little different.”

“I love it,” said Evelyn beaming at her, and then setting it aside. Holly suspected she appreciated the thought more than the actual jewelry, but she didn’t mind.

Matilda however was looking at her necklace with great interest. “Oh Holly! It’s lovely. Excellent taste. You know this gives me an idea for costumes on a project I’m working…”

“Everything does,” said Evelyn a little drolly. “The apocalypse could strike and you’d look at burning flames against the ruined cities and say you had a design idea.”

Matilda actually looked a little pleased at that.

Holly leaned back in her chair and sighed contentedly, feeling happy.

“But you and Alan did have a good time…together?” asked Evelyn, turning her attention back to Holly.

Holly thought you might have heard Matilda mutter ‘subtle’ under her breath, but she wasn’t sure.

“Yes, we had a really good time. I’m so glad I went with him,” said Holly, feeling she might as well allay concerns. “Have you seen him yet today by the way?” she asked eagerly.

“No,” said Evelyn, at the same time Matilda answered,

“Yes.”

Evelyn looked at her a little accusatorially. “You didn’t tell me that.”

Matilda rolled her eyes and went over to a rack of costumes and started to sort them. “And if I had you just would have hunted him down and cross examined him about the trip. I thought I’d spare him. Holly can cope with it much better.”

Holly laughed. “There’s no cross examination necessary. We had a really good time. I really enjoyed it and I’m glad to be back. I’ve missed both of you.”

Evelyn smiled at her. “Well we missed you and are glad you’re back. But did Alan’s movie turn out alright?”

“Well I think so. Of course they’re just starting post production now but everyone seemed pleased with how the filming went.”

“Good. And speaking of production, there’s your film. What’s the status on that?”

“I think it’s going well. I got some updates from Victor over the summer. Post production went well and they’re readying it for release. I’m meeting with him at lunch to talk promotion.”

Evelyn nodded, satisfied. “Good. I met him a couple weeks ago and he mentioned there were a couple distribution companies interested in it.”

“That’s what he said to me too,” agreed Holly, “The last time we talked. He said he’d go into more details at lunch.”

There was a lull in the conversation and Evelyn absently began to examine her nails, which Holly had begun to suspect was usually a sign there was something on her mind.

“What is it?” asked Holly.

“What? I didn’t say anything,” said Evelyn, looking up in surprise. “Though I have been meaning to ask you…”

Matilda hid a smile.

“Yes?”

“Have you heard from Peter lately?”

Holly blinked in surprise. “Peter? No why?”

“I was just wondering,” said Evelyn vaguely. “I haven’t heard anything from him in a few months and I was just wondering if you had. You’re friends with him.”

“I haven’t talked to him since we finished the last season of Homestead,” said Holly, “I don’t…” she hesitated and then admitted, “I’m not sure he wants to talk to me right now.”

“I think he probably would,” said Evelyn, turning her head slightly to look her full in the face. “I’m sure he’d like it if you called; let him know you’re back. Make a gesture. He probably just feels too awkward to do it himself.”

Holly made a noncommittal noise, privately thinking that she didn’t feel any less awkward about it than he did, but instead said, “I’ll think about it.”

Evelyn didn’t look entirely satisfied with this response, but let the subject drop.

This entry was posted in Episode One, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Season Two. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to S2, Ep 1, Sc 2: The Chat

  1. schn00dles says:

    Is Peter still alive? (Oh no.)

  2. Keith says:

    I’m enjoying the new season, although I really want to know more about Holly’s filming experiences. I guess I’ll see how that affected her as the story progresses.

    Anyway, typo:
    “…she didn’t feel any less awkward about it then he did, ”
    should be
    “…she didn’t feel any less awkward about it THAN he did, “

    • Holly(Woods) says:

      Thanks for pointing out the typo! And I’m glad you’re enjoying the new season! I’m quite excited about it too! 🙂 Lots of parts I’m looking forward to writing 🙂

      And yes! They’ll be more about Holly’s filming experiences in a bit!

Leave a Reply

