S2, Ep 7, Sc 1: The Friction

Nikki was perched on the arm of her sofa, talking animatedly into her cellphone when Clint entered the living room.  She gave him a chipper wave and continued talking. He took a seat next to her and watched. He could help but smile to himself. She was looking happy and relaxed, which had been a rare combination since her father’s arrest.

She was wrapping up her conversation and gesturing to him that she was about done. “Yes, sounds great. I’ll meet them for lunch later this week and we’ll see how it goes. Bye.” She hung up and turned to him excitedly. “I’m glad you got here early,” she said, leaning forward to kiss him. “I’ve got some exciting news I want to talk to you about!”

“Glad to hear it. What kind?”

Nikki picked up what appeared to be a script off of the coffee table and handed it over to him. He glanced down at the cover and then flicked through a couple of pages.

“What is it?” he asked, raising an eyebrow.

“Vanessa brought it over. They’ve been in negotiations with a studio and they want me for the lead!” She clapped her hands in excitement. “Isn’t that so cool? I read it last night and I actually really like it. “

Clint shrugged. “I guess. It actually speaks really well of how good you’ve been doing lately, rising back to the top, if they want you for it.”

“True. Anyways, I was hoping you could read the script and let me know what you think.”

“Why?”

Nikki laughed. “What do you mean why? Why do you think? I want to know if you like it or not. You are my manager remember. Vanessa has set up a meeting with the director and one of the producers later this week and I insisted you be included. You know Vanessa. She’s still hoping she can muscle you out.”

“Wait, stop.” Clint held up the script. “You’re not actually considering this are you?”

There was a long pause. “What do you mean? Of course I am.”

“Why? You don’t need this. You’ve got a new CD coming out soon, your tour did great. You’re doing what you know how to do, and you’re back to doing it really well.”

“It’s just one movie.”

“You’ve never acted!”

“It’s a musical. They want me because I’m a singer.” Nikki stood up and began to pace.

“Then they’re stupid.”

She shot him a very hurt look. He sighed and stood up, coming towards her. Placing a hand on her arm, he gentle pulled her towards him.

“I didn’t mean that the way it sounded. It’s just a really bad idea Nikki. Singers crossing into acting has a really bad track record.”

“They used to do it all the time,” she argued. “Some of the most famous actors of the fifties were also very well-known singers.”

“Movies were different back then. And if you have to go all the way back sixty decades to make your point-”

“Of course I don’t. There are lots of singers today who are also successful actors.”

“But they’ve had training. Often stage training. You don’t. Maybe you’d be alright but maybe you’d be a catastrophe and ruin all the work you’ve been doing over the past six months to build your career back up.”

Nikki pulled away from him and went back to pacing. “I think I could do this Clint.”

“What if you’re wrong?”

“And what if you are?” she demanded. “You haven’t even read the script and you’re dismissing it out of hand!”

“Of course I am! Because this is a terrible idea! Besides why is this so important to you?”

“I need to do something Clint! Between my family and the tabloids I can’t deal with it all. I’ve never been able to deal with it. I need to just do something! Something crazy, something out there. And usually that’s go out and party, and I can’t do that now. But this,” she gestured towards the script, “I know I can do.”

Clint hesitated uncertainly and then sighed.

“Alright. How about I read it? I suppose I could at least get an idea of the script and what kind of part it is,” he admitted reluctantly.

Nikki brightened. “Really?”

“I’ll skip the meeting with the director if it’s all the same to you though. I think Vanessa and me are better off on opposite sides of the city.”

“But you’ll be fair about the script won’t you?” asked Nikki. “Just because she was the one who brought it to me-”

“I’ll be fair.” He placed his arm around her shoulders and kissed her forehead. “And then we’ll talk about it and decide together.”

She nodded. “I know you’re going to love it.”

This entry was posted in Clint Morgan, Episode Seven, Nikki Steele, Season Two. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S2, Ep 7, Sc 1: The Friction

  1. schn00dles says:

    I think she ought to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

