S2, Ep 7, Sc 4: The Commotion

Thankfully they were approaching from the far side of the trailer. They wouldn’t see him leaving by the door. He turned around quickly. Too quickly. His elbow hit the vase of flowers and sent it crashing to the ground. He swore again and glanced back out the window. They were coming closer. There wouldn’t be time to clean up the mess.

He looked around desperately. If someone had seen him around the set and mentioned it to Alan…

He had to find a way to distract away from himself, and fast. Suddenly, he remembered coffee with Holly.

Someone broke into Alan’s hotel room…actually we think the same person might have broken into his trailer on set this week. Whoever it was left notes both times…

He pulled off his jacket, and used one of the sleeves to wipe everything he touched. He then ripped the shooting schedule off the refrigerator again and hastily scrawled a note. He hesitated for a long moment at the end.

What was the name Holly had mentioned? Rachel? Rona? He couldn’t quite place it and he didn’t have time to remember. He hastily wrote an ‘R’ and left the note on the next to the sink. He dashed out of the trailer and forced himself to slow down to a purposefully walk before ducking behind a far building.

He stopped for a moment, leaning against the wall out of sight. He stayed there a full minute before he started hearing the commotion and then left quickly.

***********

“Alan I think you’re taking this entirely too seriously,” said Evelyn breezily.

“Someone broke into my trailer, for the second time. And you think I’m taking this too seriously?” Alan snapped, pacing up and down outside the trailer. A crowd of cast and crew had gathered around, studio security had been called, and they in turn had summoned two police officers. “A crime has been committed Evelyn! And you want me to just brush it aside?”

“I’m just saying maybe you shouldn’t flip out needlessly. You don’t even know if this person is dangerous.”

“She followed me either to or from Australia! She’s breaking and entering! Leaving obsessed notes! She’s at least insane if nothing else.”

Holly hung back a little, sensing that Alan needed to give vent and suspecting he’d try to play the whole thing down if he remembered she was nearby.

One of the two officers emerged from the trailer and approached him. “There are definitely signs on the lock of someone breaking in.  We might be able to lift some prints depending how careful the intruder was. Also you can give us an idea if anything’s missing that would helpful.”

Alan nodded. “Alright.”

“You said you had a similar incident a few weeks ago?”

“Yes.”

“And you didn’t call police?”

“No, I didn’t. Security took a look at it but we didn’t report it. I didn’t want the media getting a hold of the story. I thought that might just increase the interest of whomever it was that broke in. However-”

“Yes?”

Alan hesitated. “There’s some letters…”

“From the previous times the person broke in?”

“No. I mean yes there are some from that too, but I got a call my agent? All fan mail is forwarded there. She’d heard about the break-ins and apparently there have been a couple letters signs with the same name? I only recently heard about it.”

“Okay, well we’ll need you to get us those letters and go over the previous scenes as clearly as you can. See if there are any discrepancies.”

“Off the bat I can already tell you there are,” said Alan, folding his arms. “Last time and back in Australia when my hotel room got broken into, it was a mess afterwards. As if the person had gone through everything. This time, other than the vase of flowers nothing looked out of order.”

“It’s possible who it was got interrupted. Saw someone coming. Well we’ll get this done and then you can look things over. It’ll only be a couple more minutes.”

Alan nodded and turned away as the police officer retreated back into the trailer. Alan caught site of Holly and blinked for a few moments as if he’d forgotten she was there and then came towards her. He took her hold of her hand and tried to smile.

“How are you holding up?” he asked.

“I’m fine Alan, really,” she said. “I’m just worried about you. You’re upset.”

He rubbed his forehead and sighed. “After I finish up here, I want to head back to my house. I want to show you all the security codes, teach you how to turn on and off the system and where the safe room is.”

“Alan, you’re kidding?” laughed Holly. “I don’t need to know how to work your security systems.”

“Sometimes you meet me there, and I’m not home yet. Or what you’re over and I go out to pick something up. You spend time there, in my house, and if someone’s breaking into my trailer, it’s only a matter of time before they try my house. I want you to be safe.”

“Fine. If it’ll make you feel better.”

“It will.”

“Mr. Ryder!” the police officer leaned out of the trailer door. “We’re ready for you.”

“Coming!” Alan kissed her and walked away.

This entry was posted in Alan Ryder, Episode Seven, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Peter Glades, Season Two and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to S2, Ep 7, Sc 4: The Commotion

  1. schn00dles says:

    Quick thinking, Peter. 🙂

  2. schn00dles says:

    By the way, I’m reading another serial fiction about the movies at the turn of the century you might like: http://authonomy.com/books/17908/flickers/read-book/#chapter

Leave a Reply

