S2, Ep 8, SC 2: The Opinions

Nikki entered her house with a spring in her step, tossing her purse on a side table and bouncing into the living room. She collapsed on her sofa and sighed happily, already feeling a sense of success. Lunch had gone smoothly, seamlessly and satisfactorily. Everything was in place. She’d been a little worried before going that the studio might not really want her attached to the film and had only agreed to it because the label had insisted, but it was made clear very early on they were as excited about it as she was.

She felt relieved. She could completely concentrate on this new project and by the time it was finished the drama of her father’s arrest would have calmed down.

She sat up and stretched before slipping off her shoes. Everything was going to be alright.

She heard the sound of the front door opening and smiled, guessing it was probably Clint. Really, she thought to herself, given where she’d been in her life a year ago, things were turning out remarkably well.

Clint entered the living room smiling. He greeted her and leaned forward to kiss her before taking a seat on the couch.

“I have so much to tell you,” she said excitedly. “Lunch went so well. I met the director, he was very nice and supportive and everyone just really positive. I think they would be a great group of people to work with.”

“I’m sure they were nice.”

“They were,” said Nikki firmly, hearing a tone in his voice she didn’t quite like. “And it was a very pleasant lunch.”

“I believe you,” said Clint. “I’m glad you had fun.”

“Well I did.” Nikki folded her arms and looked at him quizzically. “What is it? There’s something you’re going to say and I’m not going to like it. I can tell from your face.”

“I read the script,” said Clint.

“And?”

“And? Nik, have you read the script? It’s moronic.”

“Yes I’ve read the script,” she said shortly and stood up.

“Well are you sure you’ve read the same one I did because I don’t understand how you could still consider it after reading it.”

“I liked it,” said she beginning to pace, her arms folded.

“It’s just one giant contrived illogical mess.”

“There always rewrites on set, everybody knows that,” she argued.

“This doesn’t need a rewrite, it needs to be scrapped. You’re not doing this movie.”

She stopped and turned to him. “Whatever happened to knowing that I had to make my own decisions and that you can’t tell me what to do?”

Clint rubbed his eyes. “I’m sorry; I didn’t mean that the way it sounded. But Nikki we said we were going to decide this together and I’m saying this is a very bad script. If you want to act maybe we can find you something else-”

“I don’t want something else, I want this!”

“But this is bad.”

“According to you! I like it! And I like the people who are going to be working on it. We talked about some of the songs that are going to be used and I like those as well. Clint this is the perfect project for me right now, why can’t you just come on board?”

“Because it’s a bad script.”

“In your opinion!”

“Why are you angry?”

“Because you’re sitting there acting like your opinion is the only one that matters!”

“Nik would you calm down? I’m just trying to discuss this.”

“No, you’re trying to force me out of this.”

“You’re being unreasonable.”

“And you’re being unfair!”

There was a long silence as they both stared at each other. Clint took a deep breath.

“Look Nikki, you pay me for my advice. And my advice is that this is not a good idea.”

“You’re also my boyfriend, and my boyfriend should support me.”

“I do support you Nikki. But I don’t want you to embarrass yourself.”

“And I don’t agree that it would embarrass me. I think you’re wrong.”

“Fine, you think I’m wrong and I think you are. Where does that leave us?”

Nikki let out a noise of annoyance and started pacing again. “Maybe you don’t know absolutely everything like you think you do. Why can’t you just admit that maybe you’re wrong about the script. Just admit the possibility!”

“Because I’m not!” snapped Clint, finally raising his voice. “It’s just that bad!”

“You’re not a screenwriter, you’re not a director and you’re not an actor. You’re a paparazzo. So why should I take your word over the professionals I talked to today?”

“I don’t know, why are you paying me a thousand dollars a week to be your manager if all I am is a ‘paparazzo’?”

Nikki opened her mouth and then shut it again, as if thinking better of something and instead said, “I just want you to support me on this.”

“Fine, I can support you. But I’m not going to think it’s a good idea, and I’m not going to lie about it.”

“You’re not really supporting me then are you? You just want me to do things your way or not at all while completely unable to give one convincing reason why your way is any better!”

“You know what? I’m going to leave,” said Clint standing to his feet abruptly. “Or else we’re both going to say something we regret. We can discuss this later when cooler heads have prevailed.”

He didn’t wait for her to respond but walked out. Nikki heard the front door close, a little more loudly than normal, and she sunk down into an armchair, feeling exhausted and drained.

“What just happened?” she asked aloud, feeling confused and alone.

Author’s Note: I realized today I’ve been writing Holly(Woods) for a year now! Woot, woot! 🙂

This entry was posted in Clint Morgan, Episode Eight, Nikki Steele, Season Two and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

