S2, Ep 12, Sc 1: The Ring

Holly stepped onto the Homestead set feeling nervous and jittery. As she made her way towards the costume department, she played absently with the chain she was wearing. Hanging off the chain, was the ring.

Her engagement ring. She kept having to repeat it in her mind to remind herself it was real. She wished she could be wearing it on her finger, but both she and Alan agreed it was probably better to wait a little before they let the press found out. Alan was concerned that between her new film and his coming out in a few months, the news of the engagement would attract a few too many paparazzi.

But, that didn’t mean she couldn’t tell Matilda and Evelyn about it, and it was the latter who was making her nervous. She wasn’t entirely sure how the news was going to be received.

As she entered the costume department, she was greeted with the usual sight of Matilda working and Evelyn seated and talking animatedly, today with a large coffee in one hand.

“Holly!” said Evelyn brightly upon spotting her. “I can’t tell you how much we enjoyed the film! You were brilliant, just as I knew you would be. And I just know people are going to love it. I’ve already been telling everyone I see that they simply must watch it in theaters. I’m also planning on taking a group to go watch it, several friends you know. And you darling, you were brilliant at the premiere. You handled yourself so well, speech and all.”

“It was a very enjoyable movie,” agreed Matilda.

“Thank you. And thank you both for everything you did getting me ready for it. I’ll bring you back the dress tomorrow, shall I?”

“Yes, that’ll be fine.”

“We were happy to do it,” said Evelyn beaming. “It’s been so long since I’ve really gotten to enjoy preparing for a premiere. It usually gets a bit dull, and what is the point if no one’s going to care. But you were the star and everyone was looking. It was thrilling.”

“For someone who finds it dull, you certainly always spend enough time on your own look,” said Matilda, doubtfully.

“Well you should never let standards fall.”

Holly cleared her throat a little nervously, sensing they were about to go off on a debate and wanting to bring their focus back for her news.

“There’s actually something I want to tell you both,” she said, smoothing her hair. Both women turned to look at her. “It happened a bit suddenly, but I wanted you both to know that Alan-” Her phone rang. Annoyed she pulled it out. She was about to answer it when she noticed the caller ID. Peter. She switched off the phone.

“Yes dear?” asked Evelyn. “What is it?”

“What?” asked Holly momentarily distracted by the problem of Peter. “Oh. Right. I was telling you that…Alan asked me to marry him.”

There was a stunned silence. Obviously it was not quite what they were expecting. There was a very long pause.

“And I said yes,” added Holly, hoping to get some response other than quiet.

Matilda laughed. “I’m sorry, we’re just surprised. But congratulations! I’m very happy for you.” She came over and hugged her.

Holly turned to Evelyn a little nervously, but Evelyn smiled.

“Of course we’re happy for you. Alan seems like a very nice young man. But do remember dear, that I will always be here for you. If you ever need help, or things just don’t go quite right. I’m here for you.”

Holly briefly recalled the morning she had gone over to ask her about Peter and what Evelyn had said about one of her own relationships, and she felt oddly touched. “Thank you.” She came over and hugged Evelyn.

“Is there a ring?” asked Matilda.

Evelyn rolled her eyes. “Trust you to be most interested in the accessories of the news. Well, is there?” she asked Holly.

Holly grinned and unclasped the chain, handing it over to Evelyn. “We want to keep the news out of the tabloids for a few weeks,” she explained. “But here it is. We picked it out together. The proposal was not entirely planned,” she admitted.

“I believe the best ones aren’t,” said Evelyn. “They’re spontaneous and therefore from the heart.”

“It is a very good ring,” said Matilda.

“And I think a very expensive one.”

“Evelyn! Honestly. You’re not supposed to say that.”

“Well it would have to be. We are talking about Alan Ryder here. How many millions was he paid for his last film? If he can’t afford his fiancé a ring worth at least six figures then he needs a new financial advisor.”

“Knock, knock?” said a voice from the doorway.

The three women turned. Holly realized she’d forgotten to close the door.

“Frank! What are you doing here?” she asked, surprised.

“Victor gave me the script for the screen test on Thursday? He mentioned you were going to do it with me so I thought we could go over it together ahead of time. I was on the lot so decided to drop by to talk to you about it.”

“Oh. Right.”

Frank entered further into the room and grinned. “So engaged huh? Did I understand that right?”

Holly nodded. “Alright yes. But you can’t tell anyone Frank. Promise me.”

“Do I get to see the ring too?”

“Promise me.”

“Alright, alright. I promise. Now let me see the good stuff.”

Rolling her eyes, she handed the ring over. Frank whistled. “Wow, Alan knows his jewelry.” Holly grabbed it back.

“You’ve seen it, now don’t be snarky.”

Me?

“You.”

He grinned. “Alright, I’ll be nice. Now, how about the screen test?”

“I could do it over lunch time if you’re free.”

“Sounds good.”

“Great. Well I have to go to makeup and hair. I’ll see you at twelve.” She clasped the chain back around her neck.

This entry was posted in Episode Twelve, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Season Two. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to S2, Ep 12, Sc 1: The Ring

  1. schn00dles says:

    I’m trying to remember who Frank is…the director of Homestead?

Leave a Reply

