S2, Ep 14, Sc 1: The Choice

“What do you mean she won’t see you?” Clint asked, crossing his arms.

“I mean she won’t see me,” snapped Peter, “I don’t know how else to phrase it. Her roommate claims she’s staying over at Alan’s, but if she is the guard’s not letting me through. I’ve tried calling her again and again and she just won’t pick up. I’ve left message, I’ve sent texts: all saying how important it is that I speak with her. And she’s just not responding. So unless I actually want to send her a text saying ‘hey your fiancé is a murderer’ I can’t find a way to get through to her.”

“Have you tried showing up on set?”

“I was there this morning. I saw Evelyn. Which was definitely awkward. She advised me to stay away for a while. She seemed under the impression I was there to plead my suit so to speak.”

“So you didn’t get to see Holly?”

“Apparently she was away at some screen test.” Peter stood up and walked across his living room to pour himself a glass of whiskey.

“Well try again tomorrow when she is there,” said Clint firmly.

Peter took a drink. “Why do you care so much all of a sudden?”

“This is the first time I’ve proven someone guilty of murder. It makes you feel rather invested.”

Peter sighed and returned to his seat. “I don’t suppose you’re invested enough, to actually help tell her? Maybe she’d talk to you?”

“A paparazzo? I don’t think so. She wouldn’t let one near if her life depended on it.”

“Not a bad policy, given your track record.” There was a beat, then Peter sighed and leaned forward. “I’m sorry. That was uncalled for.”

“Not particularly.”

“You’ve helped me. I’d never have enough proof for Holly if you hadn’t. So under the circumstances maybe we can just move past the whole…”

“Invasion of privacy thing?”

There was another beat and Peter grinned. “Yeah. Why not? The people willing to help me with anything, I could count on one hand. So I appreciate that you did help.”

Clint shifted, apparently uncomfortable. “Well none of it will do any good if you can’t get the folder to Holly. Of course there is another option.”

“What’s that?”

“I could take it the police.”

“What?”

“Look, pretty much all of what we gathered, can be verified independently. If they want to. Technically, the case is still opened since you were acquitted. But with your connection to the case they might not take it seriously. However if I bring it to them, they at least might hear me out.”

Peter froze, staring at him. “I don’t want the police involved.”

“Why not? Alan could be brought to justice for what he did to your wife. I’d think you’d want that.”

“Except the last time I had anything to do with the LAPD, I ended up on trial for murder. I don’t trust them, and I don’t want anything to do with them.”

“Alright, but what about Holly? What’s she going to say? How safe is she going to be with him?”

“That’s why I have to get the evidence to her so she’ll leave him.”

Clint shrugged. “And how do you think he’s going to take that? Last I checked neither one of us has a PhD in psychology and we don’t know what made him snap the last time or what will set him off again. They’re engaged to be married. That’s pretty darn serious, and if she just ups and leaves him, he might get angry. Or he might ask questions. And what if she tells him the truth? She’ll still be danger.”

“I don’t trust the police to handle this.”

“Think for one second about Holly though. She works with this man. He’s the next big thing in the industry. He’s at awards shows and film premiers. And everyone knows she’s been dating him. How hard is it going to be for her to be around him, because you know she won’t be able to avoid running into him, while all the time she knows what he’s really like?”

“And how hard is it going to be for her to have everyone know she was engaged to a killer?”

Clint rolled his eyes. “So you’re alright with him just getting away with everything? With Alan getting awards and accolades and not spending one day in jail?”

Peter rose to his feet abruptly. “Of course I’m not okay with it. He killed my wife. But right now what I care about is protecting Holly. She’s only twenty-one. She’s young and innocent and she’s not touched by this yet, but she’s going to be. She’s going to be because I can’t just let her marry Alan, it’s not fair to her. But I mean to make this as easy as possible for her to deal with, because this is going to hurt her. The man she loves doesn’t exist, and I know exactly how painful that realization can be. And if making this easier for her, means that Alan gets away with everything then so be it.”

Clint raised an eyebrow and grinned. “Wow. This Holly girl must be something.”

Peter ignored him.

This entry was posted in Clint Morgan, Episode Fourteen, Peter Glades, Season Two. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S2, Ep 14, Sc 1: The Choice

  1. schn00dles says:

    The problem seems to be, ‘How are we going to get Holly to love the right guy?’ This is a tough one. I think if I were Peter, I would work to enlist Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

