S2, Ep 17, Sc 3: The Denial

Holly greeted Evelyn with a yawn. She waved sleepily and rubbed her eyes. “What’s up?”

“Come in. Have a seat on the couch and let me fix you something to drink.”

“Do you know how early it is?”

“Of course I do. But trust me, you will want a drink.”

Holly sat up a little straighter. “Is something wrong?”

Evelyn froze, standing over the drinks cart. It wasn’t usual that she didn’t know what to say, but right now she felt completely out of her depth. “Holly,” she said carefully, “I’m afraid there is something wrong. I asked you to come over so early because it’s going to be in papers later today and it’s easier to hear these things in person then reading about it from the press.” She poured two gin and tonics and brought them over, handing one to Holly.

Holly ran her hand across her hair and shifted nervously but didn’t take a drink. “You’re making me very nervous.”

“I don’t exactly know how to tell you this. You’re not going to believe it at first. But know I would never bring this to you if I wasn’t sure it was true.”

“What was true?”

Evelyn sunk down onto the sofa next to Holly and took her hand. “Dear, it’s Alan.”

“Alan?” Holly said in alarm. “What’s happened to him? Is he hurt?”

“No, not hurt. But he’s been…”

“Been what?”

Evelyn took a deep breath and plunged in. “He’s been arrested.”

Holly looked at her slightly nonplussed. “Arrested? Are you sure?”

“Yes.”

“What on earth for?”

“Did Alan ever mention to you that five years ago he lived in the same apartment building as Layla and Peter?”

“No,” said Holly, confused. “But what does that have to do with anything?”

“There’s evidence that Alan was romantically involved with Layla at the time of her death. There are text messages and a photograph.”

Holly drew back, an awful suspicion crossing her mind of where this was heading and refusing to acknowledge it. “I don’t understand.”

“There’s also evidence that he was in her apartment at most an hour before she died-”

“That-, that doesn’t mean anything.”

“There’s more.”

“No.” Holly stood up abruptly and turned to the door.

“Holly, stop.” Evelyn stood up as well. “I know this is hard to hear. But you have to.” Holly did not turn to face her but she didn’t continue to leave either. “When I told you about Layla’s murder, I mentioned that the case against Peter fell through because they weren’t able to find the gun. Well they’ve found the gun now. Holly it was the one you shot Robin with.”

Holly slowly sunk back on the sofa and looked up at Evelyn, her expression lost and dazed. “There has to be a mistake.”

“I wish I could say there was. But I don’t think so.” Evelyn knelt down in front of her. “Holly dear, I know how hard this is to accept. But there is no other explanation for why Alan would have that gun.”

“You don’t know that,” said Holly weakly, “Maybe Peter-” she stopped herself abruptly.

“It’s alright dear.”

“It can’t be true,” Holly shook her head. “Alan was always asking me to stay away from Peter because of Layla. He couldn’t be…if he himself had really…”

“I’m sure it was very hard for him to see Peter under the circumstances. And,” said Evelyn, “from what I know at this point, I do think Alan cared for Layla. She was leaving him, to go with Peter to New York and…well given how Peter feels about you, and that Alan knew it, it was probably just one more reason to want you to stay away from him.”

“It can’t be…none of this…none of this can be true. There’s another explanation. I know it seems obvious but didn’t it seem obvious when Peter was on trial too? Isn’t that why everyone thought he did it? Maybe it’s just the same thing all over again! Maybe there’s an explanation for why he had the gun! Maybe someone put it there or sold it to him or he found it.”

“Holly-”

“Look I don’t know how it could have happened but there might be an explanation! Alan might- I don’t know but if I talked to him-”

“He’s called in a lawyer. From what I understand, he has offered no logical reason for having the gun.”

“You’re wrong. You have to be wrong! How would you even know all this?”

Evelyn hesitated. It would be best to tread carefully. If Holly knew how much of the evidence came directly from Peter, she would likely dismiss it. In her present frame of mind she’d latch onto anything to argue this away. “Peter told me. The police brought him in for questioning after the gun was identified as the murder weapon. He’s seen the evidence against Alan and was informed that Alan is going to be charged and a statement issued later today.”

“No, no! I can’t…I won’t…” Holly glanced down at her engagement ring. Her voice cracked. “Please.”

“Oh Holly.” Evelyn pulled her into a hug.

This entry was posted in Episode Seventeen, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Season Two and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to S2, Ep 17, Sc 3: The Denial

  1. Keith says:

    Typo (at least I hope so):

    well given how Peter feels out you,
    probably should be
    well given how Peter feels ABOUT you,

    given that Peter hasn’t had a chance to feel her out … never mind.

    Unclear:
    He’s seen the evidence against Alan and was informed that he was going to be charged …

    I suggest:
    He’s seen the evidence against Alan and was informed that ALAN IS going to be charged

    Poor Holly.

Leave a Reply

