S3, Ep 3, Sc 2: The Merger

Holly Woods, relaxing on set.

Holly Woods talking with director-

Holly slammed the magazine down angrily on the stand beside her chair.

“Hey now, what did the magazine do to you?”

Holly looked up and smiled at Frank as he made his way around equipment and crew and took a seat beside her.

Set decorators were hard at work trying to make a subway station set look properly trashed while the director was in deep conversation with the cinematographer. Filming had begun at six o’clock that morning and it was already late afternoon. Holly felt exhausted but Frank managed to look as if he were completely rested and ready for another ten hours of shooting.

“How do you do it?” she asked, studying him. “You hardly seem tired at all.”

He shrugged. “You get used to it. I’ve been doing this a long time. And you didn’t answer my question. What did the magazine do to you?”

“Nothing,” she said a little sheepishly, “I’m just annoyed. There are all these pictures of me on set in it and I feel a little overly sensitive about it at the moment.”

“People love on set pictures,” said Frank, reaching over to pick up the magazine. “I’m sure you look great. Where are they? Ah here. See you do. Hey and there’s yours truly. Honestly I think you should keep this one. I can autograph it for you if you like.”

Holly laughed. “Thank you but I think I’ll pass.”

“Your loss, eBay’s gain.” He started tearing out the photo.

“Stop it.” She snatched the magazine away. “That’s not mine. I borrowed it from one of the makeup artists. I’d like to return it in one piece.”

Frank grinned. “Maybe she’d like the autograph.”

“You can ask her before you go scrawling in her magazine.” Holly placed it back on the table. “Are they almost done?” she nodded towards the set.

“Got some place to be?”

“Yes. My bed. I’m tired.”

“Where’s the fun in that? We should go out. Call up Nikki. I know a fantastic place.”

“Thanks but I think I’ll pass. I have to be on set early again tomorrow.”

“So? You know the saying, ‘you only live once’.”

“Is that your motto?”

“I’m still considering what my motto will be, but it’s definitely a top contender.”

Holly laughed which turned into a yawn and she leaned back in her chair sleepily. Frank’s phone rang and he excused him to answer it. She watched him lazily for a little while, before turning her attention back to the crew and watched the set slowly start to look more rundown.

She sat up straighter as she recognized a friendly face exchange a few words with the director and then start to walk towards her. She waved happily and stood to meet Victor.

“Hey,” she reached out and hugged him. “How are you? I feel like I haven’t seen you in ages.”

“I’ve been very busy, but I’m good. How are you?” He looked down at her with an expression of kindness mixed with concern.

“I’m doing pretty okay,” she said, smiling and tucking a strand of hair back behind her ear. “I’ve been busy too and that’s been good.”

“I’m glad.”

There was a heavy silence until Holly returned to her seat, breaking the pause. “So, what are you doing on set?” she asked.

“Actually I came to see you.”

“Me? What about?”

Victor took Frank’s vacated chair. “I’m taking a trip to London and I’ll be gone for a while. I wanted to check in on your personally before I left, see how you were doing and say good-bye.”

“Are you going to visit your family?”

“Yes,” said Victor hesitantly. “I will be seeing them. I’m staying with my daughter while I’m there. But it’s not the entire purpose of my visit,” he admitted.

“What is?”

He glanced around and hesitated again. “It’s not public knowledge yet, and I’d appreciate it if you could keep it between us, but there’s a merger planned between several studios including Grant’s and a couple in the UK. I’ve been working as a kind of liaison between them and I have to go over to finalize the deal.”

“Sounds big.”

“It is. There are three studios here, one in New York, the UK ones and a television network all involved. If this goes through it’ll be one of the largest mergers in the history of the industry and create one of the most powerful studios.”

“Would Grant be in charge of it?” asked Holly.

“There’d be a board of directors but he would be the CEO. He’s spearheaded the merger. It was his idea to begin with. I honestly never thought it would get this far but it actually might happen. Since we’re still in the negotiations, it’s important to keep it out of the papers, which is why I’d like to keep this just between us.”

“Of course. It sounds like a huge deal. It must be pretty exciting to be involved in it.”

Victor nodded. “It is. I’ve known Grant awhile and he’s quite good at business. And he’s been planning for a very long time.”

“Well good luck in London then.”

“Thank you. And I’ll see you when I get back. We’ll talk more about your career then. What your next step will be after this film wraps.”

“I look forward to it.”

“Good-bye Holly.”

She watched him walk away. The director called, waving her and Frank over, the set and equipment finally read for them to film their last scene of the day. With a tired sigh, she stood up.

This entry was posted in Episode Three, Holly Woods, Season Three, Victor McCall and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

