S3, Ep 4, Sc 1: The Roommate

“This is ridiculous!”

“We’ll figure something out.”

“We’re supposed to start filming her scenes in two days.”

“We can reschedule. We’re ready to start the railway station scenes. We can move that forward and by next week we’ll have found a replacement.”

Holly slipped beside Frank who was standing several feet back watching Doug the director talk heatedly with the assistant director.

“What’s wrong?” Holly whispered.

“The actress that was supposed to play Rhonda just announced she and her husband are having a kid. Given the physical demands of the role she’s had to back out and Doug is in the middle of overreacting. Which is good. Because calming down freaking out directors is the true purpose of every assistant director.”

Holly rolled her eyes. “The assistant director on Homestead did a lot. Walsh was always busy. Sometimes he even seemed busier than the actual directors.”

“Sounds awful. No wonder you left.”

Holly pushed him playfully. “I’ll have you know that I was very happy working on Homestead.”

“So happy you left it.”

She turned serious abruptly. “It was complicated.” Holly turned away.

“Sorry,” said Frank, his voice unusually contrite. “I didn’t mean to remind you of that mess.”

“No. It’s okay,” said Holly. Doug’s voice caught her attention, reminding her how many people were around. Holly retreated, back to a set of chairs set up near the water dispenser. She got a drink and sat down, noticing that Frank had followed her.

“How are you doing anyways?” he asked.

“Me? Great.” Her voice sounded unnatural to her own ears. “I told you I moved into the new house. And that’s been good. I love Evelyn and she’s been incredibly kind to me since the day we met but I think it’s good for me to be on my own for a while.”

“And you’ve got no regrets about leaving the show?”

“No. Not really. I miss it sometimes I guess. I really enjoyed working on it but everyone was really understanding about my decision. Ian even said that if I was ever interested I could come back.”

“You could set a new precedent. Be one of the first actresses to follow up a hit summer blockbuster film with a move to television.”

“We don’t know that this is going to be a hit.”

“What? Are you kidding? I’m in it. It’s going to be a hit. The last one certainly was.”

“Of course,” said Holly grinning, “I was in that too. Maybe I made it a hit.”

“That’s alright, since you’re in this one. As long as I’m in hit films with great box-office returns, I don’t care who’s responsible.”

“Taking your professional responsibilities seriously I see.”

“Always. And about as seriously as I take anything else.”

Holly laughed. Her cellphone rang and she was still grinning as she reached into her pocket for it, and answered. “Holly Woods speaking.”

“Holly? It’s so good to hear your voice! This is Amy!”

“Amy!” Holly beamed. “How are you?”

“I’m doing wonderfully. How about you?”

“I’m fine. I’m sorry I never got back to after I moved out. It was just a difficult time,” she added, feeling guilty.

“No don’t worry about it. I perfectly understood. You don’t have to explain anything.”

Holly smiled, remembering how pleasant it always was to talk to Amy. “So you say you’re doing good?”

“Fantastic actually. And I have some really exciting news,” said Amy. “I was hoping maybe we could get coffee sometime next week. There’s something I need to talk to you about.”

“Oh. Okay,” said Holly curious. “Next week would be great. I don’t have the shooting schedule yet but when I do, I can text you and let you know when I’m free and figure out with your work-”

“Actually I’m not working at the dentist office anymore.”

“You’re not?”

“No. I’ll explain it all next week. I’m really looking forward to seeing you Holly.”

“Yeah you too.” They exchanged a few more pleasantries before Amy said she had to dash and Holly hung up.

“Who was that?” asked Frank, who had stayed, listening in on the conversation.

“My old roommate Amy. You met her at my birthday party.”

“I vaguely recall. What did she want?”

Holly shrugged. “She has some news she wanted tell me. We’re going to grab come coffee next week. It was nice to hear from her though. We haven’t talked since I left the apartment. It’ll be good to catch up.”

“You can always count on them to come out of the woodwork,” said Frank, yawning and leaning back lazily in his chair.

Holly frowned, confused. “What do you mean?”

“Once you make a name for yourself the number of ‘old friends’ that suddenly want to catch up is amazing.”

“Amy isn’t like that. And she’s not an ‘old friend’. We lived together just three months ago.”

Frank shrugged. “If you say so.”

“I do say so!”

“I didn’t mean to upset you,” said Frank, his tone irritatingly pacifying. “I’m sure you know your friend better than I do. If you say she’s not like that, she’s not like that.” He checked his watch and stood up. “I have to get to makeup. See you later.”

Holly watched him leave, feeling annoyed and frustrated for some reason she could not quite articulate.

This entry was posted in Episode Four, Holly Woods, Season Three and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

