S3, Ep 7, Sc 5: The We

“Well? What do you think?”

Holly sat curled up on Peter’s couch, a mug of coffee gripped in one hand and watching him expectantly.

“About which one? You just told me four different problems,” he said. “Which one has really got you this upset?”

Holly shrugged and placed the mug down. “I don’t know. I guess it’s just everything happening at once. It’s too much to handle.”

Peter nodded. “You can handle it.”

“I don’t know that I can.”

“Sure you can. And I’ll help. Look as far as Evelyn goes, she’s just being overly sensitive. She has own past and an entire air cargo full of baggage. She’s projecting all of that onto you right now. That’s her problem not yours and there’s nothing you can do about that.”

“But what if she’s right? What if I’m spiraling? Maybe you don’t always know it when you are?”

“Holly I’ve had my share of spirals. If you were at the point Evelyn seems to be claiming, you’d know it. As for Amy, well she’s your friend. You’re the one who knows her and you certainly shouldn’t be listening to what Frank says about her.”

“But he was right,” Holly argued. “She did just call me up to ask me for the money.”

“Yeah. And if you really are convinced about the reason she reached out to you then I believe you. But you admitted yourself to feeling some doubt.”

“I guess.” Holly ran a hand across her hair.

“Hey,” he smiled at her. “If you want to, it’s not too late to fix it. Sometimes friendship…means overlooking things.”

“Who’d be overlooking in this situation though, her or me?”

“Maybe both? Sometimes it works that way. As for Frank…just avoid spending time with him. Don’t hang out with him after work. Don’t tell him anything you wouldn’t want read in the papers. And you probably shouldn’t punch him again.”

“It was pretty satisfying.”

“Oh I know, believe me. But it’s probably best to just chalk him up as a lesson learned and move on.”

Holly folded her hands and studied them intently, suddenly avoiding his gaze. “And what about the other thing?”

“The photographer? Lionel…?”

“Atwood. Lionel Atwood. What about him? Am I being paranoid? Or is there really something wrong going on there?”

Peter stood up and began to pace. “It is a coincidence. But coincidences have happened before. I don’t know Malcolm Grant very well. I haven’t met him in years. TV movies isn’t exactly his area. Montell Studios is known for big budget, successful films. They have a pretty good track record.”

“They did almost go under six years ago.”

“I sort of remember that now that you mention it. They spent a ridiculous budget creating these huge magnificent sets. As I recall there were several jokes at the time that they should have spent some of that money on the script.”

“So you don’t know what Grant is like? What he’s capable of?”

Peter shrugged. “I guess at the end of the day we don’t know what anyone’s capable of.” He stopped as he noticed the look on her face. “Holly I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to-”

“You’re right though. I wouldn’t have though Alan was capable of murder. I wouldn’t have thought I was capable of loving a man who had committed murder.”

“You didn’t know.”

“It was still a part of him. And I loved him so…”

“Holly.”

“I was going to marry him.”

Peter came over to the couch and sat down beside her. “I am sorry. I should have told you. As soon as I knew about him. I should have brought it to you.”

Holly sighed and turned to face Peter. “No. I’m the one that’s sorry. For the way I acted when I threw you out. There was no good time for you to tell me. I would have been angry either way. Angry if you brought it to me without proof and angry if you had brought it to me with. You were in an impossible situation and I didn’t make it any easier.”

“I’m not so sure that that was why I did it. Sometimes I wonder if I didn’t tell you earlier because I knew how you’d react. I didn’t want another person not believing me. I think it was for selfish reasons.”

“It probably wouldn’t have made a difference.”

“It might have. It could have planted a seed of doubt. And for my part, I am sorry.”

“Me too.”

Peter smiled, before turning away. “As for Grant however, I don’t know. I suppose the only thing to do is to try and find out what he and Lionel were arguing about.”

“You think I should?”

“Do you think there’s something wrong?”

“I did. I do. I don’t know now.”

“But you’re not sure?”

“No.” She shook his head.

“Do you want to know?”

“Yes.”

“Then we’ll find out. If all that happened was a mugging gone wrong then there’s no harm done. We won’t start accusing Grant or anyone else for that matter. We’ll just ask some questions, see what we can learn and take it from there.”

“We?”

He looked at her surprised. “Of course. I said I’d help you. And I meant it.”

“Thank you.”

“You don’t have to thank me. I am and always will be your friend. And I am here to help you whenever you need it.”

 

AN: Just a heads up, Tuesday’s post is going to be late. It will still be on Tuesday just sometime in the afternoon. I have a bunch of work due Monday so have to spend the time till then getting everything ready for that.

This entry was posted in Episode Seven, Holly Woods, Peter Glades, Season Three. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S3, Ep 7, Sc 5: The We

  1. schn00dles says:

    Yay! Peter’s back on track.

Leave a Reply

