S3, Ep 9, Sc 2: The Questions

“Henry! Hold on a second!” Peter jogged down the hallway to catch up. “Look before we go into the reading I was wondering if we could talk for a moment?”

“Sure. Is something wrong?”

Peter nodded towards a side door. “Let’s go in here.”

The room appeared to be a small meeting room, with chairs, table and a white board at one end. Peter took a seat and turned to Henry.

“Sorry, I just needed to ask you something and with Jay’s tendency to drag you off after read-throughs I wasn’t sure if I’d get the chance.”

Henry chuckled. “He is enthusiastic.”

“I’m fairly sure that he’d agree to pretty much anything you suggested at this point. If you said we need to film in space with real life crocodiles for the sake of authenticity I think he’d try his best to get it done. And we’re talking about a man who thought dressing actors up as crocodiles was a good idea. He’s clearly a fan of yours.”

“Yeah. I mean it’s flattering of course but it can get a little overwhelming. He actually asked me recently about how to deal with you and Marcus.”

“Marcus?” Peter snorted. “I think that shipped sailed the day my copy of the Crocodiles in Space script leaked.”

“My advice was basically keep you away from him,” agreed Henry. “That’ll get easier once filming starts. Jay acted as if this were some mind-blowing insight.”

“I guess that’s what happens when you become a big shot director.” Peter grinned.

“Was it about Jay you wanted to talk about?” asked Henry.

“Partly. Actually there are two things. The first is Jay. I saw we had some pre-production work scheduled for the 23rd that the actors have to be at? I have plans to fly out the 22nd and I was hoping you could talk to Jay about moving it?”

“Sure,” said Henry. “Easy. But he’d probably do it if you asked as well.”

“He wasn’t all that open to my requests during the first film. My goal this time is to get through everything as quickly and easily as possible. I’d rather not rock the boat and I figured he’d be thrilled to do it if you asked.”

“Consider it done. What was the second thing?”

Peter took a seat and tried to choose his words carefully. “I was wondering what you know about Malcolm Grant?

“The studio owner?” asked Henry, surprised. “What do you want to know?”

Peter shrugged. “I don’t know. I never worked with him really, so I don’t know what he’s actually like.”

“I can’t say I know either,” said Henry. “I directed a film through Montell Studios two years ago and I’ve met him at some parties. But I don’t know him or the people who are friends with him.” He hesitated and then added, “But I guess I never cared for him much.”

“Why not?” asked Peter.

Henry looked surprised at the speed with which he had asked the question. Henry was clearly curious but forever reason didn’t press the issue. He just took a seat across from Peter and drummed his fingers idly on the table. “I don’t know. He never showed there was much to him other than the work. As I said I don’t know any of his friends, but I do know a couple of people who have done some projects with him. He’s very focused and he loves his studio. He practically built the whole thing himself and he’s extremely proud of it.”

“Do you know anything about the merger?”

“Actually I do. I’m surprised you’ve heard of it though. It’s largely been kept quiet. I only know about it because a good friend of mine is president of one of the studios involved.”

“What have you heard?”

“Not very much,” admitted Henry. “A lot of it is wrapped up in nondisclosure agreements. When you’re in a business so heavily influenced by public opinion it’s important to be careful about what leaks to the press. From what I understand though, Grant is the real force behind it all. He’s the one that dreamed it up and he’s the primary person fighting for it.”

“So it’s safe to say, especially if he’s merging his own studio, that he’ll have a very influential role in what comes out of it.”

“I’d bet money on that, yeah,” agreed Henry. “But that’s definitely nondisclosure information, so I don’t know for a fact.”

“I see. Thank you,” said Peter, standing up. “You’ve been a big help.”

“What is this-” Henry stopped himself and smiled. “You’re welcome. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do for you.”

This entry was posted in Episode Nine, Peter Glades, Season Three. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to S3, Ep 9, Sc 2: The Questions

  1. schn00dles says:

    I’m glad they’re getting along. It’s more fun.

Leave a Reply

