S3, Ep 12, Sc 3: The Smiles

Clint pulled out his cellphone and dialed Nikki’s number. It rang several times before she answered.

“Nikki?”

“Clint.” She sounded strangely shocked to hear from him. Or perhaps she was just rattled.

“I’m sorry to bother you but I was wondering if you had Holly Woods’s number?” He hoped she didn’t realize that he could just have easily called Peter for it. To be honest he wasn’t sure why he hadn’t. He’d just automatically dialed Nikki’s number. Suddenly self-conscious, he walked a little ways away from Linda.

“Oh.” Nikki sounded even more surprised. “Actually she’s right here. Hold on.” He heard muffled sounds and then Holly’s voice came over the line.

“Hello?”

“This is Clint Morgan. I’m at Lionel Atwood’s apartment with his ex-wife and she wants you and Peter to come over. There are some things she wants to discuss with you.”

“Really? I see. Well alright. I can be right over.”

“Thank you. I’ll text you the address and then call Peter.”

**********

Holly hung up and handed the phone back to Nikki.

“What-” Nikki hesitated as if uncertain that she wanted to ask. “What did he want?”

“Linda Atwood is apparently in town and wants to talk to Peter and me.”

“I thought she threw you out back in Arizona?”

“She did,” said Holly. “I wonder what changed her mind. Maybe she had time to think. Peter and I both thought she seemed a little disturbed when we talked about money…perhaps she’s decided she believes us after all.” She glanced at Nikki. “Will you be alright?”

“Sure. I just needed someone to talk it all over with. I’m not nearly as upset about Tobin as I would have thought I’d be. But thank you for coming over.”

“Of course. If you’d like, you could come with me?”

“No. It probably wouldn’t be a good idea. Linda Atwood might not talk in front of me. Besides,” she admitted, “I don’t terribly want to see Clint right now.”

“Really? Why not? I thought you two were friends?”

Nikki avoided her eyes and started playing with the hem of her skirt. “We are. I just-” she shrugged faintly. “He didn’t like Tobin.”

There wasn’t a lot of conviction in her voice and Holly hid a smile but only said, “How about I drop by later and we get dinner?”

Nikki nodded. “Sounds good. I’ll see you then.” Nikki’s phone buzzed with a text from Clint. She jotted down the address in it for Holly and handed it over.

Holly left and drove quickly to the apartment building. She checked the address again, confirmed the apartment number and hurried up the stairs to the right floor and rang the doorbell. Clint answered it.

“Holly. Glad you could come so fast.” He stepped aside to let her in. “You know Linda Atwood?”

Linda stood up and came over to shake Holly’s hand. “Thank you for coming. I’m sorry about how I acted back in Arizona-”

“I understand,” said Holly quickly.

“Thank you.”

“Peter just texted to say he’s five minutes away,” said Clint. “Why don’t we sit and wait for him?”

Holly nodded and the three took seats around the coffee table. There was a short pause and then Clint cleared his throat.

“So you were at Nikki’s?”

Holly smiled again and did a less effective job of hiding it this time. However Clint was studying the corner of the coffee table with great focus and didn’t notice.

“Yes.” An idea occurred to Holly. She resisted it for a second but quickly gave in. “She recently broke up with Tobin, so she asked me over to talk about it.”

Now he did look up. “Really? That’s- a shame,” he said weakly.

There was a knock on the door and Peter entered.

This entry was posted in Clint Morgan, Episode Twelve, Holly Woods, Season Three. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to S3, Ep 12, Sc 3: The Smiles

  1. schn00dles says:

    I’m still wondering what happened to the Muffin lady.

Leave a Reply

