S4, Ep 1, Sc 4: The Show

Clint shifted through the stacks of photographs on his coffee table, moving them between piles, holding several up to compare to each other. His coffee maker beeped loudly from the kitchen. He got up to turn it off and pour himself a cup.

Returning to the living room he continued to go through the pictures. The last few months had been bizarre yet exhilarating. Nikki had put him in touch with several singer friends she knew and studios looking for a photographer for album and promotional art. Nikki had mostly stepped away from it after making the introductions as Clint wanted his work to speak as much for itself as it was possible to do. And the change in work had been exciting.

There was a knock on the door and a second later Nikki let herself in.

“Hey,” he placed his coffee mug down and kissed her as she took a seat beside him.

“Hey yourself. What’s all this?” she asked picking up one of the photographs off the table.

“I’m trying to pick out the photographs for the show.”

“You mean you’ve actually decided to go through with it?” she asked excitedly.

“I did. I’ve got to at some point. So I may be nervous what the reception will be but I’ve got to do it at some point. I could go on indefinitely doing what I am now, and it would just be falling into the same pattern as before. Admittedly thanks to you, it’d be a significantly better paying pattern but,” he shrugged. “It’s time to move forward.”

Nikki smiled and twined her arm around his.

“So you’re picking out the photographs.”

“Yes. And I’ve put out some inquiries about spaces. I need to find one I can afford.”

“I can help with the cost.”

“No. Thank you Nikki, but this is something I need to do at least mostly on my own steam. It’s just-”

“I get it. And you’ll find a place.” Nikki picked up another photographs. “It’s going to a great show. I know it.”

Clint shrugged. “As long as I can find a way to take and show the pictures I really care about on top of the work stuff, I’ll be happy. And who knows, maybe one day, the two can be the same thing.”

“These are really, really good,” said Nikki.

“Thank you. I’ll take that with a grain of salt since I think you might just be prejudiced as my girlfriend but I appreciate the fact that you believe it.”

Nikki nudged him playfully. Her cellphone buzzed and she pulled it out, sent a quick text, and then put it back in her pocket.

“Who was that?”

“Holly,” said Nikki. “Apparently another person just quit the movie?”

“Hmm.”

“Have you talked to Peter recently?”

Clint chuckled. “No. We aren’t friends you know? We just both ended up involved in the Alan, Lionel mess. Besides, he is firmly in the middle of the tabloids what with his inability to stay away from all things Holly, which isn’t a good spot to be in at the moment.”

“And you want to stay out of the tabloids as much as you can,” said Nikki. “Has it been so horrible for you?” She studied him nervously.

“What? You mean because I’m dating you? No, of course not. It really hasn’t been that bad. It’s mostly just when I’m with you that they pop up. I’m not that interesting on my own. And besides, given my former profession I don’t really think I have a right to complain if a few paparazzi get up in my face. Especially when I know most of them by name. It makes it easier to keep things friendly.” He put his arm around her. “Come on, tell me what you think of this stack of pictures.”

 

 

 

AN: To be totally honest I’ve been struggling a bit with the writing of Holly(Woods) for the past few weeks, and I’m afraid that has been showing in the last few updates. I’m sorry. Will try to do better 🙂

This entry was posted in Clint Morgan, Episode One, Nikki Steele, Season Four. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to S4, Ep 1, Sc 4: The Show

  1. schn00dles says:

    I think it would be fun if you put us in the head of Malcolm Grant. That’s where a lot of the action is taking place as he does damage control and fights to reign supreme.

Leave a Reply

