S4, Ep 4, Sc 3: The Publicity

Holly nodded thoughtfully. “So I help Henry find replacements for the people we’ve lost. I can do that. Do you think that will be enough? I mean at the end of the day this is Antigone we’re talking about it. It’s based on a Greek tragedy which is hardly going to be a big box office draw. The movie breaking even isn’t going to be enough is it? From what you said it sounds like it has to make enough money to be taken seriously from a business perspective.”

“Yes, and I’m getting to that,” said McCall. “You see there tends to be one real reason people go to see a movie.”

“Only one? What is it? Box office appeal?”

“But what makes that box office appeal? Publicity. Now there’s a lot of different kinds of publicity. There’s the kind that is already attached to a well-known brand, name recognition. That can get you far. It won’t help Antigone though. Than there’s how you sell the movie. In this case do you promote it as a a serious movie based on a famous play? Or as a political thriller?”

“A political thriller?”

“Sure. In this case you have a story of a young woman fighting against her uncle who is currently in power.”

“There’s a lot less fighting and a lot more talking than you might expect.”

McCall chuckled. “Yes but have a good promo campaign and you get people into the theaters, and once they’re in there they can actually appreciate the well-made film.”

“But you really think a good marking campaign is going to be enough? I’m mean Grant has the tabloids busy with articles about me-”

“Exactly. And that is Grant’s mistake in all this. He’s making you interesting and you can use that. Which leads me to my next point. The other thing that gets audiences into a theater is a good behind the scenes drama. It’s just another aspect of the publicity. And Grant has already given you the basics to build a great one. You just need to get the story in front of the masses. You have everything to win over audience sympathy. You have the David and Goliath underdog story, the poor indie film against the big bad studio. You have romance and broken hearts with you as the leading lady. And you have a whiff of murder mystery.”

“Murder-? You mean Lionel? But I can’t say anything about that or else he can send his lawyers after me.”

“But people already have the idea of the story don’t they? Because of your article? If you can say just enough that people can guess and speculate about it, you’ll have done enough.”

Holly sighed. “I don’t know. This all sounds…dangerous.”

McCall nodded. “It could be. But Grant has a lot at stake here. If you want to have a fighting chance you can’t go halfway.”

“Is this what you would do?”

He leaned back in his chair and looked out across the view thoughtfully. “I don’t know. You know I argued against you publishing the article. But as I see it, that’s been done. Moving ahead I don’t see you have many options. So yes, this is what I would do.”

Holly nodded. “Alright. So how should do we do it?”

This entry was posted in Episode Four, Holly Woods, Season Four, Victor McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to S4, Ep 4, Sc 3: The Publicity

  1. schn00dles says:

    It’s sounding more and more doable.

  2. Keith says:

    Typo:
    McCall nodded. “It could be. But McCall has a lot at stake here.
    should be
    McCall nodded. “It could be. But GRANT has a lot at stake here.

    It seems like McCall is the right guy to have on your side. I think I know what is going to happen, but I’ll just wait and read.

    • Holly(Woods) says:

      Ooh thanks for that! For some reason writing this scene I kept getting those two names mixed up. I’m not sure why. They’re not exactly similar.

      And now I’m curious what you think is going to happen. And if you right. Also I am wondering if you’re wrong if what you think is going to happen is better than what I’ve got planned 😀

      • Keith says:

        Do you want me to guess out loud here on the reply board? If you are really interested, you can e-mail me. I doubt what I predict is better than what you have planned. The twists of your story are quite interesting.

      • Holly(Woods) says:

        I’ve taken you up on your offer and sent you an email. What can I say? I’m a very curious person 🙂

Leave a Reply

