S4, Ep 6, Sc 2: The Gallery

Nikki unlocked Clint’s front door and picking up her bags of groceries off the floor nudged her way inside.

“Did you buy the entire store?” Clint asked, looking up from where he was working at the coffee table.

“I didn’t know what you already had and I didn’t want to be missing anything. Your kitchen is shockingly bare and this recipe was my mother’s. It’s got a lot to live up to.”

A box fell out of one of the bags. Clint came over and picked it up. “I do have salt you know,” he said, noting what it was.

“How was I supposed to know that? Come on, stop criticizing the cook. Making this meal is a very big deal in my family.”

“So I’m going to eat and like it?”

He had followed her into the kitchen. She set down the grocery bags and pulled a menu out of her purse.

“I grabbed this from the restaurant next door. After all, my family is screwed up enough that I’m sure not going to follow their example in everything. If the food comes out bad, we’ll just order delivery.”

Clint laughed. “Sounds good to me. I’ll go clear off the coffee table.”

“One of these days you could get a dinning table.”

“Where’s the fun in that?” Clint headed back into the living room and started collecting his papers and photographs. He’d been cleaning for five minutes when his phone rang.

“Clint Morgan speaking.”

“Mr. Morgan. This is Jacob Cox. I’m owner of New Vision Art Gallery. I understand you’ve been looking for a space to exhibit your photographs.”

“I-yes. Who did you hear that from?”

“A colleague. Anyways, I have an opening in my schedule and thought I’d offer it to you for your show.”

“Really? How much would the space be to rent?”

“A thousand for the week.”

“You’re…kidding? That’s absurdly cheap. All the other quotes I’ve received-”

“I have an empty slot and I’d like it filled. How about you drop by tomorrow and look at the space?”

“Alright. Thank you. I’ll see you tomorrow at ten.”

Clint hung up. He stared at the phone for several seconds when the the sound of Nikki moving around in the kitchen brought him to.

“Nikki. Could I ask you a question?”

“Of course.” She popped out of the kitchen. “What is it?”

“Have you ever heard of New Vision Art Gallery?”

“No. Should I have?”

“So you didn’t arrange for the owner to host my photo exhibit at a ridiculously low price?”

“No.” Nikki turned to him. “Is that who just called?”

“Yes. He’s offered me the gallery for a week at only a thousand dollars.”

“A thousand? That’s wonderful!”

“It wasn’t you?”

“No. It wasn’t Clint. I would have been happy to but I know you didn’t want me to interfere.”

He frowned and glanced again at his phone.

“But it’s exciting news! If the gallery is a good one-” she said.

“In my experience when something is too good to be true it usually is.”

“You’re just a pessimist.”

He shook his head. “This came out of nowhere. I didn’t even contact this gallery. The owner said he heard I was looking for a space from a colleague.”

“Well there you go. Probably one of the other galleries you contacted. Sometimes things just work out.”

“It would be a great opportunity,” he conceded. He smiled at her. “And you never know when something crazy good is going to actually happen.” He kissed her. “I’ll get back to cleaning up.”

This entry was posted in Clint Morgan, Episode Six, Nikki Steele, Season Four. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to S4, Ep 6, Sc 2: The Gallery

  1. Keith says:

    Really. Grant is working too hard on this. I mean he’s going way overboard. It’s almost like he has something to hide.

Leave a Reply

