S4, Ep 7, Sc 1: The Start

“So? What do you think?” Holly asked, watching McCall’s face nervously.

They were in the warehouse, overseeing the crew as the set was put back together. When people had showed up this morning, it was clear they were all confused and quite curious. Holly had already heard several conversations that died down as soon as the speakers noticed her nearby, most of them about what was going on with the movie and what had happened with Henry. Some of the rumors were already getting fairly preposterous.

“I know it’s your final call of course,” she added hastily. “But you know Walsh and he is good at his work.”

“It’s our call,” said Victor, “and I think it’s a brilliant idea. Walsh will be perfect to direct. He already called me this morning. And the sooner we can get back to filming the better.”

Holly sighed with relief. “Great. And then Matilda agreed to come on board for the costumes as well.”

“Excellent. This will already buy us a small fan base with Homestead viewers. We have three people from the show, we can use that to draw them in. Every fan base helps. So, now what we need next is to move forward immediately with promotion.”

“Before the film is even done?”

“Definitely. The change in directors is going to be perceived negatively. We need to put our own spin on it. As well as our need to get our theme out there of ‘the underdog verse the big bad studio’. Grant hasn’t waited for the movie to be made to start slinging mud. So we can’t wait to start fighting back. We need to act fast.”

“Alright. Well then I had an idea of where to start with that,” she said, trying not to let her nervousness show.

“You did?”

“Yes. As you pointed out, the story we need to sell is David and Goliath, right? We’re the poor maligned artists just trying to get our work out there. And I think the best place to start with that story is the internet.”

“What do you mean?”

Holly said in a rush: “I know you wanted to get in touch with some connections you have at magazines, and that’s good, but the internet is where we’re going to get our support. At least initially. We want to be different enough to grab the audience we need and I think the only way we can do that is if we do things differently. Major promotion through online print and video websites. Do interviews, maybe invite some better known web personalities onto the set? Streamers, commentators, bloggers. I think that would do a lot. We’d stand out.” She stopped and took a breath, looking at him apprehensively.

Slowly, McCall started to nod. “You know, it might just be the right approach to take. I like the sound of it at any rate. The only problem is I don’t have a lot of experience in that direction.” He glanced at her and suddenly beamed. “But given how excited you look suddenly, I suspect you have an idea for that too.”

“I do. Phryne!” Holly called over her shoulder.

“Yes?” Phryne ran up. “Is there something I can help with?”

“We need to talk to you about something. Phryne,” said Holly, turning to McCall, “dates a guy who has an internet show. She was telling me about him a couple of weeks ago. He does reviews and also has a chat show. Luke–, oh I’m sorry Phryne. What was his last name?”

“Luke Page. He has over a million followers online,” said Phryne, her natural shyness overcome by pride.

“Exactly,” said Holly, “now obviously I don’t know if Mr. Page would be interested in our movie, but he does talk about films, right?”

“Oh yes. All the time.”

“I think it’s people like that, we should be trying to reach out to. Because if we want to sell the David and Goliath angle, what better way than to speak directly to the people who feel they’re fighting that battle too.”

“I don’t know that it would be enough though,” said Victor. “We need to draw a big audience-”

“And we will. First we start small and build momentum with that so when we go big it’ll attract attention.”

“It may be our best shot. Phryne,” Victor turned to her, “do you think you could get us a meeting with Luke?”

Phryne, who’d been watching Holly wide-eyed, suddenly look like a deer caught in the headlights. “I…think so? I could call him?”

“Do that. Ask him to the set. Just tell him that Holly and I would like to talk some things over with him. Nothing more.”

“Alright. I’ll call him up.”

This entry was posted in Episode Seven, Holly Woods, Season Four, Victor McCall. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to S4, Ep 7, Sc 1: The Start

  1. schn00dles says:

    Fun. What can go wrong? 🙂

  2. Keith says:

    Typos:
    but the internet is where we’re going to get out support.
    but the internet is where we’re going to get OUR support.

    So we can’t wait for it to start fighting back.
    “for it” is a weird antecedent, so remove it
    So we can’t wait to start fighting back.

    Streamers, commenters, bloggers.
    There’s something that strikes me as strange about the word “commenters.” Maybe because people who comment are not creators of web content, but reactors to it. Also there’s something called a “blog tour” for authors (like yourself). Maybe they could do one for the movie? I don’t know if Holly would think of this but there is a big feminist web community (and blogger community) out there and they might be excited about Antigone. Does Antigone pass the Bechdel test?

    Note: I’m sure I posted this before. Really, really I did. Or maybe I just dreamed that I did. Anyway, here it is in full Déjà Vu color.

    • Holly(Woods) says:

      Commenters striked you as odd, because it’s a typo…it should have been commentators. But I didn’t realize that until you pointed it out because when I say the word aloud it tends to come out awfully close to commenters so I just went ahead and wrote it that way without really thinking. Woops.

      And now I’m trying to think if Antigone would pass the Bechdel test….of course in the story they’re filming is a modernized version of the play, but based of the original Greek play….I’m not sure it actually would. If the two female characters are talking about their dead brother and whether or not to face the punishment associated with burying him…does this still count as talking about a man even if the man is technically a corpse? Maybe this is an issue Holly can bring up with the feminist web community to debate 😉

Leave a Reply

