S4, Ep 7, Sc 3: The Work

Peter was surprised to hear the knock on his door. He wasn’t expecting Matt and there wasn’t really anyone else who tended to drop by unannounced…other than Evelyn, but even she preferred the out of the blue phone call. Of course Holly did have his address…

He got up quickly and went over to answer the door. He regretted it immediately.

“Henry? What are you doing here?”

Henry didn’t look all that thrilled to be there either. “Can I come in?”

“If I said no this would probably just take longer.” Peter stepped aside and Henry entered. “What do you want?”

“I’m here about work.”

“Really? Because I think we’ve already discussed Antigone pretty thoroughly and I’m not having another Holly, Layla comparison debate.”

“Not that work. I’m here to discuss Crocodiles in Space.”

Despite himself, Peter laughed. “I will never stop finding that name amusing. What about it? I’ve already checked. I’m off the hook for number three.”

Henry grimaced. “I wish I was. But actually it’s about the second film. We have to do promotion for it.”

“Oh dear. I’d forgotten all about that.”

“Me too. But I got a call from the network this morning. They’re emailing us the schedule.”

“I don’t suppose there’s a way out of it?”

“I already tried. They’re pretty committed. I’m afraid we’re stuck.”

“And they asked you to come tell me?”

“No,” said Henry, “I’m sure they’re going to call you too. But I thought things being the way they are it’d be a good idea we could come to some kind of…understanding. Look the last time we did a promotional tour together I ended up with a broken nose. I’d like to avoid that this time around.”

“Well maybe you should be a bit more trustworthy then.”

Henry resisted the urge to let out noise of exasperation. “Like you said: we’ve already discussed Antigone enough. We’re not going to see eye to eye on it. But can we co-exist? Look, at the very least, know that I do believe that what I did was for the best.”

“See, that’s the problem. I don’t know that. I think Grant offered you something you wanted and you built a justification around that.”

“I didn’t-” Henry let out a frustrated sigh. “Whatever. Again, we’ve gone over this and we don’t agree so let’s move on.”

“I trusted you with something very important to me and you completely betrayed that trust. A little hard to move on from that.”

“But we have to work together.”

“Yes we do. For a short time. And we are five years older now. I’d like to think we’ve gained a little more maturity since the last time.”

“So we’re good? For the promotion I mean. I don’t have to wear a protective nose covering when we’re stuck in a room together?’

Peter laughed. “That all depends. It would be quite the fashion statement.” He turned serious. “But you know what really ticked me off last time was when you’d sit there and throw out complete lies about what a big happy family we were on set.”

“It’s just part of the job. You’re not going to tell every reporter the nitty gritty of how badly things have gone off the rails.”

“You could try something a little closer to honesty though.”

Henry ran a hand through his hair sighed. “Fine. We’ll take a ‘honesty is the best policy’ tack then. Will that help?”

“Well…unless they ask us what we think of the movie. The screenwriter already hates me enough. I guess we could be more diplomatic there.”

“Alright. Hopefully then we can get through this without any broken bones then.” Henry turned to go.

“Can I ask: has Grant…heard about what’s going on with Antigone yet?”

“You mean, McCall buying it? Yeah. Grant has heard.”

“Was he mad?”

“From what I heard? Furious.”

“Is your Constantine film still on?”

“The contracts are already signed so yes.”

“But I’m betting Grant is a whole lot less interested in the project now isn’t he?”

Henry avoided eye contact. “It is true that Grant is very busy at the moment and has decided to take a less active part in the project. But the film will be continuing.”

“Somehow I expected that. The screenplay isn’t done yet is it?”

“No.”

“Good luck on getting one Grant signs off on. I expect it’s going to be a bit of an uphill battle.”

Henry opened his mouth and then shut it again, before walking out of the apartment with a nagging sense of worry in the back of his mind.

This entry was posted in Episode Seven, Peter Glades, Season Four. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to S4, Ep 7, Sc 3: The Work

  1. Keith says:

    Typo:
    Henry avoided eye contract.
    Henry avoided eye CONTACT.

    Hugh opened his mouth and then shut it again,
    HENRY opened his mouth and then shut it again,

    Comment:

    So predictable. I don’t feel sorry for Henry at all. Whatever his true motivations were, Grant’s were obvious.

    Doesn’t Peter have commentary to do? Or is that already done?

    • Holly(Woods) says:

      Ooh thanks! Not sure how I missed this comment when you first made it. Made the edits. I always knew that one day I would accidently call Henry ‘Hugh’. When I originally came up with the story that was his name….and every now and then Hugh has slipped in as I wrote. I always caught it before now. But I knew it was just a matter of time 😉

  2. schn00dles says:

    Oh, what devious machinations will Grant try next? Though, didn’t he have some sort of claim on Antigone still?

Leave a Reply

