S4, Ep 10, Sc 3: The Deletion

“Um, Ms. Woods?”

“Hold on just a second Phryne. I don’t care, you said you’d have the construction done by tomorrow and I expect it to be done,” said Holly, crossing her arms and trying her hardest to look like someone it was in your best interests to make happy.

The construction man didn’t look entirely convinced. “We told Mr. Donne it would take a week. But the production has had so many delays and Henry Donne isn’t even attached to the film anymore-”

“None of the delays are ones that should affect your construction company and I don’t see why it would take a week for Mr. Donne and two weeks for me. Had Mr. Donne offered to help hammer in any of the nails?”

“No-”

“Had Mr. Donne said he would screw in any of the screws?”

“Of course not.”

“Good. Then it’s exactly the same amount of work for you regardless of the film’s director and management. So either have the work done by tomorrow or we’ll expect a discount to compensate for the expense a delay is going to cost our production. Come on Phryne.”

Walking away, Holly leaned closer to Phryne and whispered, “How does he look?”

Phryne glanced back over her shoulder. “Mad…and on his phone.”

“Hopefully to his construction company, getting his act together. I swear I’m growing paranoid. I never know anymore when someone is legitimately trying to be incompetent or just more sabotage. So what did you want to talk to me about? No, let’s head this way. I need to swing by the costume department to talk to Matilda.”

Phryne chewed her lip nervously and looked on the verge of breaking into tears. Holly noticed this and instead hurried the girl in another direction, towards a quiet, out of the way corner of the set.

“What’s the matter Phryne? You look miserable.”

“I-I don’t know how to tell you this. I feel like I’ve let you down…ruined everything. It’s all my fault and after you trusted me so much. I’m so sorry. I don’t know…I don’t know how…” By now Phryne really was crying.

“Oh Phryne. Whatever it is I’m sure it’ll be okay. We’ll make it okay. You haven’t been offered a better job somewhere else have you? Grant can’t really be going after our interns now? Because you know if that’s it, I’d understand. I wouldn’t hold it against you.”

“It’s not like that.” Phryne sniffed and wiped vigorously at her eyes. “I’ll never speak to him again! I’ll never see him again! I won’t even watch one his videos ever again for the rest of my life. I hate him!”

Who do you hate?”

“Luke. Oh!” Phryne started crying again but through her tears Holly made out the words, “He deleted all the videos.”

Holly stared for a minute as her mind filled in the blanks and then she smiled, resisting the urge to laugh. It wasn’t actually funny and Phryne certainly wouldn’t appreciate it, but it had been one of those days.

“Phryne, it will be alright.”

“No. No you don’t understand what I’m saying! Luke deleted all of the videos he’s already put up about Antigone and he has no intention of ever releasing the interview.”

“Yes I got all that but it’s alright. You don’t need to cry and this isn’t your fault.”

“But I introduced you to him. He was my boyfriend and I vouched for him.”

“And I hope he’ll still be your boyfriend when all is said and done. I would be sad to think you two had broken up because of this mess of mine.”

“I told him last night exactly what I thought of his behavior.”

Holly sighed. “Well just don’t come to any final decision in haste.”

“But because of him I’ve ruined everything!”

“You haven’t ruined anything. In fact you can help me. So cheer up. We have a video to upload.”

This entry was posted in Episode Ten, Holly Woods, Season Four. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to S4, Ep 10, Sc 3: The Deletion

  1. schn00dles says:

    I think I missed Luke being ‘turned’.

  2. Keith says:

    Typo:
    “He delated all the videos.”
    “He DELETED all the videos.”

    I’m liking Holly more and more. She better be getting producer credit.

Leave a Reply

