S4, Ep 10, Sc 5: The Brunch

“I know. I know what you’re going to say. It was reckless.” Holly had just finished explaining to Evelyn all about the interview and she winced as inwardly she prepared for the older woman to start voicing all of Holly’s own fears and list every reason why releasing the video had been a horrible idea.

Instead, Evelyn surprised her by clapping her hands in delight.

“Actually I think it’s brilliant.”

“You do?”

“Of course! Perfect publicity! Even better than if this Luke whatever his name, had released it himself like he’d promised. It’s marvelous.”

“Oh. Thank you.” Holly grinned happily and took a sip of coffee.

Evelyn had invited her over for brunch. Of course this being Evelyn, brunch was at one o’clock. When she’d received the invitation, Holly knew that Evelyn would want to talk about Antigone and had almost declined. But now, seeing her friend’s reaction, Holly felt herself relax and start to warm up to the topic.

“Several tabloids have been running stories on it. The view count seems to double every time I look away.”

“Of course it does. With the right PR everyone is going to want to be able to say they’ve watched it.”

“Well we’re definitely getting the right PR. I’m just not sure how.”

“Tabloids will write about anything that people are paying attention to.”

“You see that’s just the problem. It feels like in this case it was the other way around. The video was making a bit of a splash when we first uploaded it. Small waves in its own specific circle, but I just don’t see how it was enough to get the kind of media attention that followed it. And the views, the really big views, only came after the media. I don’t understand it and I can’t help shake the feeling that there was a step taken somewhere along the line that I’m not aware of.”

“I’m going to sound dreadfully old and I do hate that, but whoever really knows with the internet.”

Holly laughed. “I suppose I can’t claim to be an expert on the subject.”

“You see? Maybe this is all perfectly natural. You said you put it up on the account of someone who already had experience with some videos? Maybe somehow her own group got things going.”

“No. Phryne had a total of three other videos uploaded and they were all of her cats.”

“I hear cats are very popular.”

“Hers aren’t that cute.”

“Who is this girl anyways?”

“Phryne? She’s our intern.” Holly chuckled. “Listen to me? ‘Our’ intern? I really have gotten into this producing work haven’t I? Anyways, she’s also Luke’s possibly-ex-now girlfriend. Which was one of the reasons when she insisted we use her account that I eventually agreed. As she pointed out, Luke isn’t about to sue her for releasing his video without his permission and he’d be unlikely to extend me the same courtesy if I’d created my own account.”

“I would like to meet this Phryne. She’s sounds quite plucky.”

“I have to say she’s been very helpful with our online media push. And ever more so now. Since the interview went viral we have been swamped with interview requests from all over. Online media, print media, even some television media. Not a lot on the latter. Not yet. But it’s something and definitely a lot more than it was before this. Everything seems to be building steam. But there’s so much of it and we need to sort through it all. And on top of that filming is almost done and while Walsh has shifted as much of the scenes around as he could to give me spare time to work on the business side of things, now there’s no way around it. I have to finish up all my scenes this week. So with all my filming, filming and more filming, I just don’t have time for everything and Phryne has really stepped up to the plate and helped go through all the requests. We don’t want to back off on the online publicity front but we also want to take advantage of some of the new opportunities being offered, and Phryne has been a huge asset in helping us to find the perfect balance.” Holly stopped short as she realized that Evelyn was staring at her. “What?”

“Nothing. Just…you’ve come an awfully long way from that first day on the Homestead set.”

“Thank you. You helped that happen.”

“Darling, I’d be incredibly proud if I believed that was true.”

“It is. So believe it. Because I thank you in my imagery Oscar speech every time.”

 

This entry was posted in Episode Ten, Evelyn Martin, Holly Woods, Season Four. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S4, Ep 10, Sc 5: The Brunch

Leave a Reply

