S4, Ep 12, Sc 2: The Honesty

“We’ll be right there,” said Peter. He turned to Henry. “Ready for this?”

“Sure. Let’s get it done.”

They made their way to the set where they were quickly mic’d up before being set down on a large, comfortable couch across from a plush armchair.

The host, Martin Bailey, finished up his cup of coffee and handed it over to an assistant before coming over to shake both of their hands.

“Good to see you Henry. Peter, it’s been ages. How you doing?”

“Fine.”

“Great, all set? We’re about to get started here…yes. The director’s signaling.” He got comfortable in his armchair and the three watched the director sign the countdown and then gesture for them to begin.

Instantly Bailey pulled on a wide grin. “Welcome to the Martin Bailey show! We have two exciting guests with us here tonight: Henry Donne and Peter Glades! Welcome fellows! Welcome! Very happy to have you both here.”

“Thank you.”

“So what does it feel like to be back on the couch together? Must feel a bit nostalgic, eh?”

“It feels,” Henry glanced over at Peter. “Weird. It’s been a long time.”

“It has indeed. And you guys are here for the film Crocodiles in Space: Alligators Too. A really fun film. What was it like working together again?”

“Ups and downs.”

Peter smiled. He appreciated the fact that Henry was obviously trying to stick to his word about being honest during any interviews. He decided to help him out a bit.

“I really appreciated the chance to get to work with Henry again. All things considered, I’m glad it worked out this way.”

“Then can we expect to see Crocodiles Three anytime soon?”

Peter snorted. “Not with me in it you can’t.”

Bailey blinked, obviously a little taken aback by this less than diplomatic response. “Ah, well that’s a shame. I’m sure a lot of people will agree. The series has grown quite a following.”

“Yes. Most of who enjoy hearing me mock the movie in the official commentary.”

“That’s true!” said Bailey, brightening. “It’s quite an unusual arrangement. And rumor has it you’ve recorded one for this second film as well.”

“Yes I have.”

“Well maybe if you don’t feel like acting in a third film, you’ll at least come back for the commentary.”

“I doubt it.”

“Ah… got other plans? It’s probably quite an exciting time for you career wise. I suspect you have a lot of film offers to consider.”

“A few.” It had been rather amazing the number of people who had suddenly showed up back in his life all eager to work with him again. Peter wasn’t sure if they were motivated by guilt or were hoping all the drama would be a box office draw.

“So, what can we expect from you next? What kind of acting roles are you on the lookout for?”

“I’m not. As inauspicious as it is, Crocodiles in Space: Alligators Too will be my last movie.”

“What?” This was from Henry.

“I’m done acting.”

“But you’re a good actor!”

Peter shrugged. “Maybe, maybe not. But I’m not interested in pursuing it anymore. I’m out.”

“What are you going to do then?”

Bailey seemed a little surprised that Henry was taking over his job for him.

“I’m going to write actually. I…well I signed a deal last week for my first book. I’m, er, actually not sure how much I’m actually supposed to be talking about it. The press release isn’t out yet…”

“Writing? Like an autobiography?”

“Goodness no. I’ve had about enough of me. It’s fiction. A comedy.”

“A comedy?”

“Yes.”

“Wow.”

Peter saw nothing else to do but nod. “Yeup.”

“Well that’s quite big news!” said Bailey, trying to regain control over his own talk show. “Congratulations!”

Peter turned to look at Bailey again. “Thank you.”

“So Crocodiles in Space: Alligators Too will be your big send-off eh?”

Peter grimaced. “Yes.”

“That’s exciting. And what about you Henry? Got any big announcements? Going to give up directing to become an artist?” He laughed, but it was fairly fake.

“No such luck. Still directing.”

“You’re working on a bio pic now aren’t you? With Montell Connected Studios?”

“Oh.” Henry looked as if he’d suddenly found himself caught in the middle of a firing squad. “Ah. That.”

“Yes.” Bailey frowned. This had clearly not been his evening. “What can you tell us about it?”

“Well.” Henry crossed his arms. “In all honesty,” he glanced towards Peter as he said this last word, “there’s not much to be said about it. It’s been made pretty clear to me that it’s never going to happen.”

“It’s not?”

“No. Promises were broken once some people got what they wanted. I was honestly pretty naïve and I’m sorry for that. I’m especially sorry to the cast and crew of Antigone. I left that film to do the bio pic, because it was a story I’ve wanted to tell since I first started wanting to tell stories. I thought that I finally had my shot to tell it and that the opportunity might never be offered again. But I should have realized what a special story I was already working on and I should have stuck to it.”

There was a long silence.

“Weeeeell, said Bailey at last. “I think it’s time for a commercial break. We’ll be right back folks.”

As the lights dimmed, Henry leaned over towards Peter. “Was that about the right amount of honesty?”

This entry was posted in Episode Twelve, Peter Glades, Season Four. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S4, Ep 12, Sc 2: The Honesty

Leave a Reply

